We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Court

Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #404 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue & Lakeshore Drive
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“birthday tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

this was a special treat for my birthday and wow was it worth it. We had booked it in England and had emailed them as i am a veggie with an allergy to cheese but never expected them to take note but they did. As soon as we arrived they knew who we were and made sure that they knew about our diet needs and it did not disappoint. It may be expensive but as a treat it was worth every penny thank you the drake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinksnanausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful steaks. Atmosphere is beautiful and elegant. Well worth the money and the wine list is amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank junkqueen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High Tea Birthday celebration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I met my daughters & granddaughters for the afternoon high tea at 3:00pm on a blustery winter day and had a good time. Harpist was playing beautifully and added a delicate ambiance even though noise level was high. Decor in Palm Court is older than I expected and sort of drab. Room was full of people (mostly ladies) having tea for baby showers, birthdays, American Girl tea, etc.. We were 5 adults with one baby and the table we had was too small for all of us, could hardly fit all the plates and teapots on it. Tea sandwiches are good: seafood salad in pretzel roll, cucumber & tomato, roast beef, turkey breast on white bread. Scones were okay (I've had better), cake pops, tiny whip cream eclairs in shape of swans, small squares of cake are good. Peanut butter and jelly finger sandwiches and optional hot chocolate for children. Our waiter was very attentive and prompt and kept asking if we wanted more tea, sandwiches or sweets. A good time was had by all but now that I experienced it I will try something new for my next B-day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tea Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful weekend planned in Chicago and the Tea Service at The Drake was a must. We were greeted by Joe, the Bartender at The Palm Court at the Drake. He recommended the Chrysanthemum Cocktail, which is THE best cocktail I've ever enjoyed! Then, we had the Tea Service, which was over the top. Such lovely service and food in a lovely, charming Hotel. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nan Mason and Terry Higgins entertainment at the Palm Court can't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

If Nan and Terry are playing at Palm Court you can't miss them!!! They are amazing! We continue to return to Chicago and every time we seek out Nan & Terry! They are so talented and entertaining. Nan and her voice and humor...and Terry...keyboards, horns...sax, fluegelhorn, trumpet.....amazing!!

We return again and again to The Palm. Court at the Drake to see them and will continue to do so!

Helpful?
2 Thank Vjazzywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing