We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food quality”

American Girl Place Cafe
Ranked #497 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Streeterville
elmwood park
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food quality”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I've been going to the AG Cafe for several years, it's a tradition with my niece. The food quality has changed and the price has increased. I'm talking about the entrees. The little appetizers are still very good, but the chocolate dessert is tasteless and in my opinion has changed somewhat. The atmosphere of this place is so darn cute, though and is worth checking out because of what they offer in charm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
896 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
“First time visit - well worth the price”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Went here for the 530pm dinner with my 8 and 5 year olds. Food was actually quite good. We opted for a package with a cake and a gift bag. The cake was very good.

Worth the price for a special occasion. Service was good. Decent views from the dining room as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Its very nice. I went here with my little cousin and it was really cool actually. You look at the menu and think its super expensive. But you get ALOT of food, I couldnt even get it all down. You MUST make a reservation. You can choose a doll to 'eat' with you, if you dont already have one.The staff are EXTREMELY friendly.

A must go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer123491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake County Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Treated Like Princesses, but bad Cake”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I took my daughter for her 7th birthday, her 3 friend, Dolls, and their Mothers for lunch. My daughter has many food allergies. They were wonderful and had the chef called me personally to go over her allergies and he was more than willing to read ingredients to me to make sure all was allergy compliant for her. My only disapointment was they wouldn't let me bring a cupcake for my daughter to eat while her friends enjoyed the Cafe birthday cake. They insisted that it was against Health department guidelines for me to bring it, and that I had to order their Gluten free/allergy free cake. I did and it was the only bad thing. It looked beautiful, exactly like the cakes we saw other tables recieving. But, the Cake was under-cooked on the bottom of the layers, stiff, rubbery, and had no flavor at all. I've made these at home (for 7 years) and the ingredients you use have no flavor, so you have to add something, I usually use a good oil flavoring like Bannana, Orange or Cherry! We each had one bite. My daughter was very disapointed. Other than that, they had many food selections for the pickest eaters, and great stuff for adults too. The food was delicious, was presented in darling girly ways, and I would eat there again, just not brithday cake!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kthoede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An Incredible Experience!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent a dinner meal here last weekend and will never forget it! My six year old granddaughter loved being treated like a queen. The staff made us feel so welcome...and watching a room full of little girls enjoy this experience was something I will never forget. The entire store staff was ready to do whatever they could to make this a very special night for my granddaughter. Take a special little girl in your life here and help her make some wonderful memories!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Girl Place Cafe also viewed

 

Been to American Girl Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing