We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mystery!”

Uncle Julio's Hacienda
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Julio's Hacienda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #965 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Mystery!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

How can a restaurant with such poor service, such below average food, and such deafening noise be jam-packed with people who seem to want to be there? Any fans of good Mexican food, Margaritas, or even canned Tecate - will find the existence of Uncle Julio's a mystery.

Went with a group of five - got very poor service, sloppily made drinks, barely okay food, and couldn't hear each other talk without raising our voices.

The table side Guacamole was okay. Sad it is served with such flimsy chips.

Not recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    53
    24
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still a favourite”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter, home from college wanted to visit uncle julio's for a birthday lunch. We've been to restaurant several times before and this time was no different. Chips and salsa are great, my favorite are the butterfly shrimp and beef enchilada, which l combine into one dish, with onion, peppers, and alittle sour cream, delicious, delicious. My kids enjoy the fajitas. So l guess we'll be back for some other occasion down the road.

Helpful?
Thank po153c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Truly an average meal, They have a big room, but their habit is not to space out the diners. This limits conversation and adds to noise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigVChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reliable Mexican Food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've gone to Uncle Julio's in Lincoln Park for years. The chips and salsa are always great. I could go for these with a margarita. The Aunt Juanita's platter is my favorite. You wont leave hungry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really good group outing”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I was here as part of a corporate group in town on business. We were brought to Uncle Julios and I didn't know what to expect. It was a good time with good margaritas and some really tasty food. Since we were part of a large group the food was pre ordered with a platter of chicken and steak for fajitas and some ribs and shrimp. The chicken and steak was good and the ribs were really good. I ate much more than I should have. Oh, and the Uncle Julio's margarita is delicious. I had 3 just to make sure!

Helpful?
Thank Checkcheck38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Julio's Hacienda also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Julio's Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing