We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time, but not the last”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Spice Restaurant
Ranked #1,620 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chillicothe, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had never had authentic Thai food and decided to try this Thai restaurant near Loyola in Chicago based on reviews over Mother's Day weekend. So glad we did. Nothing special from the outside, but nice decor inside. The waitress was extremely helpful in explaining the menu and answering our numerous questions. We had potstickers, Thai Pad with chicken, Thai Spice Gaprow Kai, and Panang Curry. Huge portions so we could all share. All three of us were impressed and will definitely return when we are next in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crinkleroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great Thai food in walking distance from my home. With many Thai options in the area this is great that the closest one to me is the best.

With the food and the atmosphere here I almost felt that I was back in Chaing Mai Thailand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Anthony, owner and front man, is everything a restaurant host should be - friendly and knowledgable. His wife is in the kitchen, preparing the best Thai food I have ever eaten. Their meals' degree of heat is rated on Anthony's scale of one to ten; a new customer is not allowed to order higher than five on the first visit. That heat is earned. And for the meek (like myself), you are able to order your food at "zero", with no judgement. My Pad Thai was heavenly, with the smooth, peanuts flavor evident in every bite. My table mates had Seafood Fried Rice, Panang Noodles, and Lad Nar, which they all proclaimed delicious; two of them ordered their food at "one" and found the food sufficiently spicy. There are two tables with floor pillows, if you are able to contort to sitting on the floor. You may need to be patient; the kitchen is small, and the food is cooked to order. There are no alcoholic beverages served, but you may bring your own bottle of wine. Thai Spice is my new standard for Thai food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanw452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly & Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Anthony is wonderful, bottom line. You can tell he just genuinely wants to make you happy! His service is top notch. The food matches his charisma. My wife and I ordered out twice in the past week because we loved the Pad Thai so much! We split it and had still had a little left over. Even people with big appetites couldn't finish this in one sitting. All around great place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake_Norris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was my first experience with Thai food. We were there for a rehearsal dinner for a family member's wedding. They took wonderful care of us, even accommodated the children of the group with milder dishes... The food was phenomenal!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Spice Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Spice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing