We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, helpful, delicious”
Review of Star of Siam

Star of Siam
Ranked #279 of 9,521 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Description: Star of Siam serves healthy, delicious, great value food. Star of Siam is the best choice for anyone who loves Thai food. Menu highlights include Padthai Noodles, Cashew Chicken, Tomyum (hot & sour lemongrass soup), Satay with signature peanut sauce and cucumber salad, and authentic tasty curries. Star of Siam is a convenient place to escape from the bustle of downtown.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“convenient, helpful, delicious”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've been coming here for 30 years. Yum is a a good description. The appetizers could be a mean in themselves. I've been to many Thai restaurants across the country. This is my favorite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyinChicago_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    169
    66
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place! ”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner and the did was excellent. Big portions served family style and a nice range of entrées from sweet to very spicy (ginger chicken). Prices were very reasonable including beer!

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Awesome food and atmosphere. Very decieving from the location and outer appearance. Worth checking out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabalicious71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for the price”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We love Thai food, and try restaurants all over that offer Thai. This place is well located near the Mag Mile, offers a good variety of authentic Thai food for a very reasonable price. We managed to beat the rush on a Saturday night, so had minimal wait. Waiters were busy, so attention was not excessive, but not missing, either. While we enjoyed our meal, it was not really remarkable, so dropped a star.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GalleySlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Lake, illinois, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great Thai food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I loved this place. I loved the way the guests are seated at tables with their legs in a hole so one thinks they are sitting on the floor. The food was very taasty and the service very ceremonial. I will definately try to go their as often as I can when i am in the area

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star of Siam also viewed

 

Been to Star of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing