We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for locals”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Frog Bar & Grill
Ranked #4,568 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Huntsville
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK for locals”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I dropped by the Blue Frog after reading reviews raving about the fun and games. I was disappointed upon entering to see one table of friends playing a lively game and one local sitting at the bar. So I ordered a martini which is why I went there in the first place. The local at the bar and the bar tender were very nice! I pulled out a map as I was planning my route to various tourist locations and everyone there was very eager to help.
I think if I were a resident in the area this would be a regular low-key place to hang out. It seemed very comfortable. I don’t feel it is for tourists unless traveling with a group of friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiarfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice cheap eats”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

sports bar but the portions were large and the food was good and prices great plenty of televisions and good view from most seating

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sholix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Nook”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Blue Frog had wonderful staff that were very attentive, the environment was very laid back (a Tues. night around 6 or 7), and the food...OMG the food! We had the best mac 'n' cheese and jalapeno bites we've ever had, and if you're looking for a burger, well let me tell you, it is insanely hard to choose just one! They are all unique and original and sound fantastic! You really can't go wrong here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaC356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Went to Gibson first but they had a 2 hour wait, went next door to Hugo's where you can order from their Gibson's menu and had a great meal!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank coach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That girl is poison!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

So much fun singing karaoke at the Hubbard Street location! And it's located just east of all the Hubbard and State Street douchery that occurs at Rockit, etc. Crowd is good-looking and chill, drinks are strong and the song selections are choice. Definitely check this out late night!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank theposterchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Frog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing