We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
Ranked #76 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Huge quantity at reasonable price. Great selection. Love this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank catman1_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,223
    731
    215
    63
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Money Stolen - Beware”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We ate here with our two kids - a short wait and yummy food. However, my husband left his wallet on the table when we left...we were back no more than 10 minutes later and he found it thrown under the table with all the cash missing and nothing else. His fault we know. Based on the timing, the fact that his credit cards were still there, and the location where he found it (under the bench table leg), we're convinced it was the bus boy or waitress. We obviously can't prove it though. Beware. And make sure you take everything with you always - he learned his lesson.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skbomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The flavor of our food was excellent. The service was very good with the exception that we felt rushed when they attempted to clear our table before we had finished our meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boilermaker821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
315 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great location and good food in the heart of MI Avenue”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The location, literally on the corner of Michigan Avenue in the heart of the shopping district, can't be beat. The food is also very good and the menu is quite diverse. Unfortunately, the prices are fairly stiff and this place is always mobbed with tourists (can't really blame them, it's a great location and decent food). Don't let that dissuade you, but plan ahead.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Everything on the menu is wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Everything from drinks to dessert are wonderful. Service was good but there was a little wait for the chek to arrive. We will go back

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c0rgi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing