We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Del Friscos Double Eagle Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Friscos Double Eagle Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #231 of 9,531 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Gold Coast
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The bone in filet is the best in the city, great lobster mash and amazing old fashion's to wash it down!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    73
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Elegant!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is the latest entrant in Chicago's steak wars, and it's hard to argue that it isn't among the best. Great steaks, excellent sides, and a huge (and I mean huge) wine list that's not too tough on the wallet. The space is the old Esquire Theater, and they have done a beautiful job on it. A special hint: on Sunday, the special at $49.95 includes a nice Filet Mignon, salad, crab cake, and side!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smudgecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as its reputation”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We were recommended this splurge-steakhouse above all others in downtown Chicago and it didn't disappoint. The food was fantastic, but the service was a little frosty. This might have been because we shared one bone-in ribeye between two (which was definitely the right decision) and with this quality of food and wine list, the service could and should definitely have been better, but it didn't really spoil our enjoyment. Stunning dining room and the background music was something that STK in London/Vegas could definitely learn something from.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nkhandhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

You want an amazing and classy dining experience? Look no further! The ambience screams sophistication and class with modern accents and vintage touches. My husband and I enjoyed a drink at the upstairs bar (not as loud as downstairs) and were seated in a comfortable booth for dinner. Our waitstaff knew the menu and gave excellent recommendations. Eat the crab cake!! It is amazing!!! The best you will ever eat. Our meals were cooked with perfection (well-done is hard to do) and tasted amazing. It was a fun date night experience and we will definitely eat here again on our next visit to Chicago!

Helpful?
Thank Rossvacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great steak-Responsive service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Unfortunately, we were short on time for this meal due to a show we were going to see. Waiter made certain the meal kept moving so that we would not be late. I had the prime porterhouse, asparagus, lobster mac and cheese. All delicious and perfectly prepared. For dessert, I had the baked banana bread pudding which I will confirm is the most magnificent dessert I have ever tasted and a concoction I will be attempting to reproduce at home until the goal is met.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Friscos Double Eagle Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Del Friscos Double Eagle Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing