We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood If You Like Going Out”
Review of Holiday Jones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

There are a ton of pubs and bars in the area if this is you scene. I was traveling on work so I was just looking for a cheap place to get a night's rest. Everything was new and in good shape. Also, one of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

On a college exchange in the US from Australia and took advantage of my fall break to spend 4 days in Chicago. The hostel is in a perfect spot! Only a short train/bus ride away from downtown and very easy to get to other tourist spots around Chicago.
Staff were really friendly and the brochure of things to do around the Wicker Park area given to you on arrival was very helpful. Rooms and lockers were a good size. Beds weren't squeaky and the linen was super clean with your bed already made up for you with a towel included. Bathrooms are new and modern which was a nice change from other grungy hostel bathrooms I've had to use in the past.

The hostel was overall very clean and apart from some drilling in the morning (the hostel isn't quite finished…) noise was never an issue. Wifi was also really fast and never cut out on me/lagged even during Skype chats.

As a young women travelling by myself I felt really safe in the Wicker Park area at night by myself and you don't have to walk far to find somewhere to eat/pick up groceries.

Overall, a really enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelaidef19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hostels are not always hospitable places, but Holiday Jones was very comfortable. The mattresses were very wide and pleasant to sleep on, and we had a choice of bathrooms on our floor (in busy times it may be more tricky). The lounge area downstairs makes it easy to meet people and socialise. Breakfast was a 'help yourself' type thing, and for a hostel, I was impressed with the options available. The staff were friendly and seemed very happy to work there. It's a little bit out of the way from everything - you have to get a cab or a train to get back to the loop, which is a bit of a bother. But all in all, a very enjoyable time

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ab2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

As a first timer to Chicago, I had little guidance in terms of selecting an area to stay. This hotel was listed as moments from the blue line of the L, and not too far from downtown activity.

The hotel itself was reportedly just opened for operation 3 weeks ago- and it showed with cleans rooms and bathrooms, little sign if wear and tear.

Although I had anticipated a single bed room, my private room came equipped with bunk beds, a stool, towel, and small bar/table. Perhaps simple, but all that was needed for some brief R&R.

Ends up that the neighborhood, Wicker Park, was alive with people my age and had lots of nightly activities (restaurants and bars) nearby.

The staff at this hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Definitely a recommendation for travelers that can handle the hostel- style of travel.

Only complaint would be need for more common restrooms per floor... But even that was manageable!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catrycke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CassieSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#61 of 192 in Chicago
315 reviews
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#107 of 192 in Chicago
100 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
The Robey Hall
The Robey Hall
#116 of 192 in Chicago
67 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,902 reviews
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Jones

Address: 1659 W Division St, Chicago, IL 60622-3810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , West Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £23 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Holiday Jones 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Jones is located in the heart of Chicago's popular Wicker Park neighborhood. Trendy restaurants, bars, and boutiques are right outside our door. Only a block away from the Division Blue Line train station, Holiday Jones is minutes away from the city's top attractions and is easily accessible from O'Hare airport. Stay with us, and Stay like a Native in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Jones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing