We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem...no, it really is hidden!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #134 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I booked the Buckingham based on reviews across many websites and am glad I did. The views from the 40th floor rooms (all are on the same level) are simply fantastic. Ask for a north facing room and you'll be presented with a sweeping skyscraper view across one of the best cities in the US.

Checking in was a breeze, once I'd located where I was actually staying! It's housed within a 40 storey business tower and the small desk is in one corner only. The elevators and foyer are accessed with a keycard given after check in, so you'll not go to the wrong area without these - there's 24hour security patrol too. You get to the room via a lift to level 39, then another for the last level.

Rooms are big, a little old fashioned but well looked after. Bathrooms include toiletries, coffee maker and fridge in the room, but I had an old TV with a bad picture. However I turned it off and used the free wifi instead. Breakfast during the week is on the club level, which involves more lifts but is worth it as there's plenty to choose from. On weekends however it's on level 40 in a small club room, and the options here are poor.

I think for the price I paid versus access to the brilliant gym and quiet location in the centre of town was fully justified and I've no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is not the easiest place to find (our cab driver was really confused...) since it takes only one floor of a building otherwise occupied by financial companies (Morgan Stanley is one floor below...). The good news is that all rooms are located in the 40th and last floor being impossible not to get a great view of Chicago. Plus, our room was huge and it had a nice couch just by the window to appreciate the view. It was also very quiet and at times we felt like we were the only two people in the building (although there were obviously other guests).

The decor of the room was a bit odd with antique-oriented (or some just old-looking) furniture, faux(?)-marble in the bathroom and some more modern looking appliances (ugly bedside table alarm clocks, anyone?). That didn't really bother us but if you are into fancy-looking luxury hotels this is definitely not the place for you. Another peculiarity is that you need to switch elevators at the 39th floor to get to the hotel and when going down for breakfast at the 3rd floor "athletic club", you need to change elevators twice: once at floor 39 and another time in the lobby to go back up to floor 3. To compensate, breakfast and the use of the athletic facility (good looking pool, squash and golf areas; we didn't have time to use them) are included, which makes this hotel an even better value.

Although the location is not perfect since the area just north of the river is much more interesting to go out at night, it is still pretty good: it's one block south of the loop, a few blocks from the Willis (Sears) tower and it has great access to transportation, including the El and the subway line to the O'Hare airport (important, since taking a cab or a shuttle bus from O'Hare sets you back 31-40 bucks+tip! Ouch!).

As negatives, we should point out the low and variable pressure in the shower and the fact that the beds were too soft, although some people might like it. Otherwise, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nydp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I will stay here every time I go to Chicago for a weekend. If you don't need a barista in the lobby, this is the place for you. Enter from S. Financial to lobby for ease of finding your way around hotel. The staff is excellent. Hotel is tremendous for romance, views, and inexpensive beyond belief. It has a great pool and athletic club but will have try that next time. Yes, I had the fluctuating water pressure for a few minutes in shower but everything else makes it great hotel to stay in. Views in my suite went from Soldier Field, Adler Planetarium to Lake Michigan to Chase Building to the Willis Tower that seemed right next door. The breakfast was fine, light and really healthy (like a real continental breakfast) fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and juices. If something ran out, the staff came and refilled. Minibar in room not expensive either. Room could you use mini fridge. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Nice breakfast, lovely clean room, good wifi, lovely views ,lovely bed. The gym/pool looked impressive but we didnt have time to use it!

Weird set up going up 2 different lifts but who cares, it didnt bother us...

I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank shellyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Spent one night at this very unique lodging in the heart of the Chicago financial district. The hotel occupies only the 40th floor of an otherwise upscale office building. As a result your room is 400 feet in the sky with amazing views of the surrounding skyline. Our room looked out to the north, enabling a view of the Willis (formerly Sears) tower, as well as a look toward the lake from our high perch. The room was beautifully appointed, had a couch with a bay window that facilitated our view all the more. Breakfast is provided as part of the room rate, provided at the athletic club dining room on the third floor of the building. If we had wished we could also have used the workout facilities at no additional charge. I highly recommend this place, you will love its location and the facility itself. One of the best hotel deals I've ever found.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We enjoyed the clean and incredibly comfortable rooms and have high praise for the excellent service at the reception desk and concierge. The only flaw to our stay was a young pipsqueek of a security guard named Ian, who couldn't usher us from the building fast enough once we had settled our bills. He became confrontational and decidely unhelpful while we waited for our car to arrive. How can a welcome guest become a security concern in a matter of moments? Only Ian can answer that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were happily surprised. The staff was outstanding and our room was great. Beautiful view from our room. Room was very clean and very comfortable bed. Close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 192 in Chicago
2,021 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £82 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing