We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #125 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

OK the lift issue is quirky but you get over it as soon as you reach your room....the views from 40 floors up is amazing, just puts a smile on your face.The room has everything you need & more, the tv is old school but mini bar prices good.Quiet & so secure at night we ate 2 nights at Boni Vino around the corner great italian food fun staff & even better prices....try the italian sausage & rigatoni awesome!!!.We had the greatest time in Chicago walked eberywhere as the hotel was so well placed.Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    71
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
86
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel projects an image of being upscale but cut through the veneer and it's terribly in need of both renovation and management who has actually stayed there and discovered how ridiculous some things are. For example, upon checking in, I laughed my head off when I saw the big box TV. These things went out years ago. Come on, folks, get a flat screen. Nothing says "outdated" more than those old fat TVs. And then, how cheap could it get, You get one bar of soap for the bathroom. What a pain moving your soap back and forth from tub to lavatory. Yes, I know you can ask for another bar but you shouldn't have to. And if you do decide to watch that big clunky box of a TV set, you have to figure out a 55-key Comcast cable remote with at least 3 different ON buttons and one button that says CABLE and one that says TV. So what's the magic combination that makes this clunker work? In case management hasn't noticed, pretty much all hotels know that you need to keep the TV usage simple. And the elevator combination is unreal. Take one elevator to 39, then another from 39 to 40 and if you want the breakfast you have to take an elevator from 40 to 39, 39 to 1, and a third elevator from 1 to 3, followed by a rather long walk. Honestly, I found that I could best tolerate it by laughing about it. I give this a three-star because it's functional.and convenient to the financial district but that's all I can say.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here three nights and loved the large room and the view. It is an odd place because it is on one floor of an office building which houses financial services offices. Cleaning is fine, though the housekeeper asked if I wanted the room made up, or just towels. The athletic facilities, pool, and breakfast room are housed in the club on the third floor. It is a bit odd at night, though extremely secure because it is a workplace building. If you want what this place offers (view, athletic facilities, transit access) it's great. If you want a normal hotel, it's probably not the best choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The room was huge for the price and very clean and quiet. It's also right downtown between the L and the blue line and the metro, so you can get everywhere. We had a view of downtown and could see some of the lake. I used the athletic club almost everyday. It's nice to be able to use an actual full-sized gym, instead of those little hotel gyms. The locker rooms are super swanky, which I appreciated. And take advantage of the pool. Kids aren't allowed, which makes swimming in it lovely.
Some tips:
On weekdays, breakfast is in the club room in the athletic club. It was really nice - they had hot and cold options. It's also convenient to hit the gym, shower, then eat. On weekends, it's in the lounge on the 40th floor of the hotel since the athletic club is closed. That is true continental breakfast - just some pastries, bagels and cereal. You may want to eat out on the weekend.

The restaurants in this area cater to workers, so most close at the end of the workday. You'll need to go to another area for dinner, however lunch options are plentiful. If you need food later at night, the Subway across the street is open until 9pm and there's a little grocery store 2 blocks down the street that is open until 11pm. I

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week for leisure and sightseeing and liked it very much. The rooms are spacious and clean and the view through the panorama windows is fabulous. Location is good, too, with many public transport connections right in front of the door and a major shopping area on State St. within walking distance. The hotel is a bit difficult to find, though - I ran around with my suitcase for quite a while after exiting the blue line train from O'Hare.
Some other minor points of criticism (which, however, did not spoil the experience too much): The furniture is quite dated, and especially the desk was not stable, so that writing or typing on it was uncomfortable. I used the gym, but did not use the pool and sauna area, mainly because you don't get your own key for your locker as a guest, which is not very nice when you want to lock your stuff while you shower or swim and then have to look for the employee to open the locker again. Why don't they give guests a key in exchange for an ID card or driving licence, for instance? If just using the gym, however, it is also possible to return to the hotel room and take a shower there, and the gym by itself has so much more to offer than usual tiny hotel gyms.
In general, I would recommend the hotel and also stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelslocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of June and loved it.
Huge room with a huge comfortable bed, good bathroom with a bath, free wi fi and a very reasonable price for the location. Everything was clean and the maids did a good job.
We had a view of the lake and the fountain which was lovely. After being out in the noise and bustle of Chicago it was good to come back and chill out in the room and look at the view.
We found we could walk to a lot of places from the hotel, such as the Willis tower, the fountain or the lake. Otherwise you are next to the El and taxis were easy to hail.
We did use the gym and pool facilities which were very good.
The only drawback we found with the hotel was that at weekend breakfast was in the club lounge. While this was an acceptable breakfast it wasn't as good as the breakfast during the week down in the athletic club.
The hotel is very secure which is a good thing but be aware that if you go outside without your key or some ID and it's a different member of staff on the desk (who hasn't seen you before) they won't let you in. I had to go and retrieve my partner when he did this as we only had one key fob to open the turnstiles!
The lifts weren't a problem but if you were there for longer it may become irritating. You take one lift to the 39th floor then change to the lift for the 40th floor. For weekday breakfast or the gym it's take the 2 lifts down then swap to the lift for the 3rd floor.
If I came back to Chicago I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room would have a good view depending on whether you want city or lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wherever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel for a wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The price, for the location, is decent. Perhaps one of the cheapest in the downtown Chicago area.

The view was excellent, we were situated on the west side of the building so our view was the whole city. Over the course of our stay, we spent at least an hour looking around the city from our birds-eye view. The night cityscape is the best.

The bed was incredibly comfortable. The pillows were exceptionally soft (definitely bring your own if you can't sleep on soft pillows) and the down comforter was snug and warm. We both had a very restful night. City noise wasn't terribly distracting but we do live a block away from a train station so going to sleep with noise is common to both of us.

The bathroom is spacious with plenty of privacy (the toilet was located in a separate room, with a door, inside the bathroom). The shower head was probably the biggest disappointment. You have two options: ineffective trickle and fire-hose. The shower easily accommodates two people.

Cleanliness was a big plus, there was not a single hair in the shower or anywhere else in the bathroom. All linens smelled freshly washed with bleach. The bathroom floor was spotless and every cup in the room was covered with a paper cap.

Some things we didn't use but were available: chiller and two wine glasses, coffee pot and mugs, sink outside of the bathroom, and a fully stocked mini-bar (prices weren't outrageous but they were high). We also didn't use the athletic club or pool; we also passed on the continental breakfast because we didn't get out of bed until after 10.

We were very pleased with the necessities and the view. The bed was incredible and the room had plenty of seating (2 comfortable easy chairs, 1 wooden chair (with a desk), and a loveseat (with a coffee table). Aside from the shower head, the TV (in our room at least) was disappointing as well. It was an old style tube TV with a terrible picture -- but who wants to watch TV with Chicago literally right outside your window?

We would definitely go back to this hotel if given the chance. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Northside rooms have a view of the fountain and the lake. All other views are of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Every_Names_Taken_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Property: The Buckingham Club
Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing