We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #134 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and i stay at this great hotel for three days on the fortyth floor the view was a experience to behold it was plush delux we could not fault it.The only down side if you can that was that security was like trying to get into fort knox.Breakfast every morning was superb plenty to eat,and over all value for money.Transport close by lots of eatery but on the weekend it every thing closes because its in the financial district.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have great views of the lake but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here because of in-house event @ Everest Restaurant. Room was ok, lake view was incredible, & spa and indoor pool were the best! Bad & poorly marked signage for parking (separately owned entity), no one to greet us/help with luggage, multiple & confusing elevators, housekeeping friendly & responsive, but erratic in leaving towels & toiletries. Stayed 4 nights, but spa only opened half the time. This is in the financial district, so security was EXTRA tight...however, they were pleasant & helpful. Weekend/holiday breakfast too minimal. Really just a business person's hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLKJJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

OK the lift issue is quirky but you get over it as soon as you reach your room....the views from 40 floors up is amazing, just puts a smile on your face.The room has everything you need & more, the tv is old school but mini bar prices good.Quiet & so secure at night we ate 2 nights at Boni Vino around the corner great italian food fun staff & even better prices....try the italian sausage & rigatoni awesome!!!.We had the greatest time in Chicago walked eberywhere as the hotel was so well placed.Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazzab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel projects an image of being upscale but cut through the veneer and it's terribly in need of both renovation and management who has actually stayed there and discovered how ridiculous some things are. For example, upon checking in, I laughed my head off when I saw the big box TV. These things went out years ago. Come on, folks, get a flat screen. Nothing says "outdated" more than those old fat TVs. And then, how cheap could it get, You get one bar of soap for the bathroom. What a pain moving your soap back and forth from tub to lavatory. Yes, I know you can ask for another bar but you shouldn't have to. And if you do decide to watch that big clunky box of a TV set, you have to figure out a 55-key Comcast cable remote with at least 3 different ON buttons and one button that says CABLE and one that says TV. So what's the magic combination that makes this clunker work? In case management hasn't noticed, pretty much all hotels know that you need to keep the TV usage simple. And the elevator combination is unreal. Take one elevator to 39, then another from 39 to 40 and if you want the breakfast you have to take an elevator from 40 to 39, 39 to 1, and a third elevator from 1 to 3, followed by a rather long walk. Honestly, I found that I could best tolerate it by laughing about it. I give this a three-star because it's functional.and convenient to the financial district but that's all I can say.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here three nights and loved the large room and the view. It is an odd place because it is on one floor of an office building which houses financial services offices. Cleaning is fine, though the housekeeper asked if I wanted the room made up, or just towels. The athletic facilities, pool, and breakfast room are housed in the club on the third floor. It is a bit odd at night, though extremely secure because it is a workplace building. If you want what this place offers (view, athletic facilities, transit access) it's great. If you want a normal hotel, it's probably not the best choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The room was huge for the price and very clean and quiet. It's also right downtown between the L and the blue line and the metro, so you can get everywhere. We had a view of downtown and could see some of the lake. I used the athletic club almost everyday. It's nice to be able to use an actual full-sized gym, instead of those little hotel gyms. The locker rooms are super swanky, which I appreciated. And take advantage of the pool. Kids aren't allowed, which makes swimming in it lovely.
Some tips:
On weekdays, breakfast is in the club room in the athletic club. It was really nice - they had hot and cold options. It's also convenient to hit the gym, shower, then eat. On weekends, it's in the lounge on the 40th floor of the hotel since the athletic club is closed. That is true continental breakfast - just some pastries, bagels and cereal. You may want to eat out on the weekend.

The restaurants in this area cater to workers, so most close at the end of the workday. You'll need to go to another area for dinner, however lunch options are plentiful. If you need food later at night, the Subway across the street is open until 9pm and there's a little grocery store 2 blocks down the street that is open until 11pm. I

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennie0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week for leisure and sightseeing and liked it very much. The rooms are spacious and clean and the view through the panorama windows is fabulous. Location is good, too, with many public transport connections right in front of the door and a major shopping area on State St. within walking distance. The hotel is a bit difficult to find, though - I ran around with my suitcase for quite a while after exiting the blue line train from O'Hare.
Some other minor points of criticism (which, however, did not spoil the experience too much): The furniture is quite dated, and especially the desk was not stable, so that writing or typing on it was uncomfortable. I used the gym, but did not use the pool and sauna area, mainly because you don't get your own key for your locker as a guest, which is not very nice when you want to lock your stuff while you shower or swim and then have to look for the employee to open the locker again. Why don't they give guests a key in exchange for an ID card or driving licence, for instance? If just using the gym, however, it is also possible to return to the hotel room and take a shower there, and the gym by itself has so much more to offer than usual tiny hotel gyms.
In general, I would recommend the hotel and also stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engelslocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £108 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing