We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location in Financial District of Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #127 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique location in Financial District of Downtown”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I agree with other reviews that the location is a bit hard to locate but once your arrive, this quaint hotel only offers about 20 unique rooms. Some have views of Lake Michigan and it has personality and charm compared to other corporate hotels. The staff is warm and friendly. Food is great too. Room has a mini-bar and the bath amenities are Aveda brand, the TVs are still the older large tube TVs but the beds are very comfy and clean. WI-FI worked great which is important for business travel.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms that have views of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiitala318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    73
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
87
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

This is actually located in a financial building. You will be hauling a 10 lb key around that is used to access entry and elevators very inconvenient. Now take elevator after elevator to finally get to your room. There is no pull up service so be prepared to haul your luggage down the street and through revolving doors to get to a small check in area. Rooms are clean and you are right downtown. So for the money a nice place but if you want luxury and modern amenities try a newer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We thought this was a great hotel for our three night stay in Chicago. Yes, the security is unusual and the elevators a challenge the first time (it takes three rides to get to breakfast!), but the hotel is amazingly quiet, well-appointed and served. Then there's the view - we looked south and could see Lake Michigan at the left of our bay window. At night it was pure magic. The only really lower score for our stay was the breakfast which was ample but the hot things (hash browns, sausages, scrambled eggs etc)were pretty ordinary. We stuck with the fresh fruit salad, cereal and toast. The buffet was never busy and often we were the only people there. If you wanted to take advantage of the Athletics club, it had everything - a lap pool, golf practice range, squash courts and free fruit at the counter as well! Even in winter, we walked everywhere easily or caught the loop and the price was very acceptable for what we got..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dojxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Great hotel but better for a single on business than a couple on vacation. Not for families. Underground parking hard to find; needed turn-by-turn directions over cell phone from front desk. No help with luggage; had to make 2 trips over 40 floors with three elevator changes. When you park in garage, find the correct spaces because each section is for a different purpose. Need to get scanned into another section of garage to find elevator to take to first floor.

Need security to scan you through gate to check-in. Then you get only 1 room key with a burdensome device about the size of a smart phone that will gain you access through the gates, elevators, room, etc. If with another person, stay together when you come/go because you will beep yourself in and then hand it to your partner so they can beep through exits/entrances for security reasons.

Room gorgeous, faced north but with bayview window could also see east/west. Took about 45 pics of view, including sunrise over Lake Michigan. Nice robes in room. Huge tub, BF and I both used it once. Expensive mini-bar so byob. NO mini-fridges available as advertised. Mini-bar "fridge" only gets to 50*F, so not cold.

Breakfast great (but not staff) on weekdays in athletic club (buffet style w/eggs, potatoes/peppers/onions, meats, waffles, fruit, hot/cold cereal, yogurt, granola, toast, juice, coffee, etc.)

Lap pool had 4 lanes, about 4 ft deep. One huge HOT tub with 2 sections (one standing only and one with seats). Loved the steam room and sauna, but we were sad we couldn't sit together since they are in locker rooms.

The morning of our check-out, we called the front desk to request a cart for all our luggage so we wouldn't have to make 2 trips again. After 2 calls and waiting 30 minutes my boyfriend finally went to get one himself because we were already late for checkout.

Like I said, this place is perfect for the single traveler. As a couple, you cannot enjoy the sauna or steam room together, the breakfast room and pool and hot tubs are full of rich business types who are members of the athletic club, there is a lot of security that makes coming/going a hassle (because you have to scan yourself in then hand the scanner to your partner or else they can't get in). I would return if by myself on business.

Room Tip: Any room is good. Our room was facing north (I think because Sears/Willis Tower was to our left when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I loved this place so much I wasn't sure if I should write a review. I didn't want to let the secret out.
It is close to everything. Amtrak? A few blocks away. CTA? Blue line is half a block away, all others are one block. View from room? Amazing. I almost didn't want to leave the room. I just wanted to sit and look out on the city. During summer nights there is a fireworks show by the Navy Pier. We sat and watched from our room. We were higher up than the fireworks! For this area, the price was way lower than any other hotels. The only problem someone might have is figuring out the elevators, but after doing it once, it's easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, MI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Buckingham Athletic Club twice. Both times, though different, I experienced nothing but the finest views of Chicago and the most courteous treatment by the staff. The hotel is conveniently located withing walking distance of several Chicago landmarks, as well as the subway and Metra being located directly outside! We walked everywhere, and took the subway once. Both times, though I stayed in different rooms each time, we had a phenomenal view! I would strongly recommend this little hidden gem! I must warn, though, some people have complained about the breakfast. Breakfast Monday-Friday is served in the Athletic Club, and there is a very nice buffet set up. However, on the weekends, breakfast is served in the hotel lounge. You definitely don't get the selection you would during the week, but it is very expected of a traditional "continental breakfast", and there are plenty of options to choose from.

In closing, I read before I stayed that the elevator ride was a pain. I didn't find it to be a pain at all. There is one transfer, and if you stay during the week, you will have to take the elevator (with one transfer) and then take another elevator. However, the hotel staff is very helpful and willing to direct you to your location.

I will definitely be staying here again in the future!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leetlestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I reserved a room there 2 months in advance, and prepaid. Received a confirmation, and when I got there they didn't have a room for me and offered NO alternate accommodation. I was told that this is a standard practice there. I was left high and dry by them.

Room Tip: go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank craig w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 189 in Chicago
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Property: The Buckingham Club
Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing