We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place....so close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #49 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We loved this place....so close to everything!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The week of July 17, 2011 our family had the opportunity to stay here. The front desk was most helpful in everything we needed. We have no complaints at all. A very nice breakfast was provided every morning, and we were always able to find a table. The front desk people are superb....they were able to guide us to whatever bus stops we needed. We bought the city bus pass for 3 days, for around 15.00 and we went all over Chicago. We also took advantage of the City Pass which got us into 5 venues, the Planetarium, Field Museum, Museum of Science and Industry, the Shedd Aquarium and the Skydeck at the Willis Tower, This also provided us with no waiting in lines! Our suite was huge, with a full size fridge, washer and dryer,stove and microwave oven. It's right near the Michigan Ave Bridge. You won't go wrong in chosing this hotel. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sombrero6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
We are so pleased you chose our hotel to host your family. I enjoyed reading on how friendly our front desk was and that you enjoyed our complimentary full breakfast and our city center location. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    506
    141
    40
    34
See reviews for
578
483
88
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Location is absolutely the greatest selling point with this hotel. Right on Michigan Ave on the south end of the Magnificent Mile. Hotel shows relatively new, clean, and organized. Rooms are of the generous size and come with kitchen and laundry included. We had the double queen bed suite and the main room with both beds still had ample room left over to move around. Service was great, called for help with toilet and more towels and both were handled within 10 minutes of calling.
Now the "not so good" criticisms. Parking only available offsite. Several nearby secure spots are available but nothing less than $35/ day self parking. No stopping on Michigan ave, so hauling your gear is required. Bathroom was the smallest i've encountered ever. Could barely fit with room to spare and when you travel with 2 teenagers, it made for some careful coordinating shower times. Free breakfast, nothing is free without a price and that price is congestion and dealing with the throngs of other families with small out of control children all vying for some make your own waffles and toast. Like most free breakfast deals, timing your arrival to breakfast is a gamble so spare yourself the aggravation (unless it's just coffee you need) and go to the Corner Bakery Cafe around the corner and really enjoy a satisfying start to your day.
Overall, the location and room size wins over the other minor problems and I would recommend this hotel easily.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
The staff thanks you for your recent stay and for your review. We are thrilled you would recommend us to others and that you enjoyed our location that is convenient to Chicago's best attractions. I was happy to learn our staff was quick to respond and that you enjoyed the size of your spacious suite along with our modern in room features. Please see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel was super nice and the staff was incredible. The room was very clean and lovely! Had a wonderful time and Can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssa002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for the kind comments and for your recent stay with us, we also hope you will come visit our spacious and conveniently located hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Comfort Suites was among the most affordable choices in downtown Chicago. We ultimately chose it for the convenient location. After being in Chicago for a week, we now realize how convenient the location truly is. There are not many hotels in Chicago that are actually on North Michigan Ave. With the Comfort Suite, you walk out the door and you are right on North Michigan about a hundred yards south of the Chicago River, with hundreds of restaurants and hundreds of shops within an easy, interesting, safe, walk. Also huge in our consideration was the spacious room. We were staying a week (family of three) and the extra space made the time in the hotel much more relaxing. Each suite has a kitchen and a washer/dryer. The washer/dryer was a Godsend. There may be other hotels in downtown Chicago that offer a washer and dryer in each room, but I couldn't find them. Comfort Suites my be unique in that regard. Some hotels offer laundry service, with the associate cost. At Comfort Suite, you can do it yourself - at your convenience. The room was very clean, as were the common areas. The breakfast was as expected. The staff was friendly and considerate. Should we ever again need a hotel in downtown Chicago, the Comfort Suites at North Michigan Ave will be our first choice. We were on the 18th floor in a corner room and had some great city views.

Room Tip: There would be less waiting for elevators on the lower floors. Generally the wait wasn't too ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thither47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
I very much enjoyed reading your review and we thank you for the your business. You're right we are one of the few hotels on North Michigan Avenue. I was pleased to learn our staff was accommodating and helpful and that you enjoyed your roomy suite with our sweeping views. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Perfect location! Close to shopping, the river, Soldier Field, Wrigley Field, etc...
We were impressed as soon as we walked in the door. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was huge and nicer than expected. Overall, great hotel, location, and staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fightfyre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
We are so happy you were impressed with our rooms, our location and our staff. Thank you for your kind review and for your business we would love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Arrived in Chicago for 5 days for a conference. I was solo and thought the room would allow me to get some groceries and be a perfect home base for the conference. I took the train into town and knew that I would have to get out at the Hard Rock because they were not allowed to stop on Michigan Ave. It was a short 30 sec. walk to the hotel. Upon check in, the front desk clerk was very nice and gave me the lowdown. I was on the 14th floor on a south west corner room.

Got to the room and found it to be spacious! It was like coming home to an apartment. I started to unpack right away and then started to notice a slight funky smell. It was like a dead animal smell. I searched everywhere, but could not find it. I thought it was the kitchen, but it was not. I thought it was a "City Smell" thing. When I went to buy some snacks at the walgreens on the corner (there is also a Subway next to door too), I bought a scented candle and that did the trick.


KITCHEN: The kitchen stocked will all the necessities to cook a meal and feed 4 people! The appliances looked a little dated. But it was pretty good size and had a large counter to use.

LIVING ROOM AREA: Nice TV with spacious loveseat with pillows. Comfortable. The closet for hanging clothes and the dresser was in this area, but it was no big deal. Had a safe too.

BEDROOM: Had a great view of other hotels, and the large buildings and up michigan ave, so that was cool. No lake view though. The bed was comfy with lots of pillows. The washer and dryer were in the bedroom closet with a iron and ironing board that were immaculate. Usually the water filler is missing or the board is burnt. Everythign was is great working order. Plus there was a TV in the bedroom too!

BATHROOM: This was the major downer. It was a workable size, but it needed counter space. Got in to take a shower and the water pressure was a joke. One morning at peak time, it was dribbling water out while I was soaped up. I mentioned this at check out when I checked out and Patrick said they were having problems with the Hot Water. Gotta get that fixed for sure!

Never took advantage of the free breakfast. The elevator was the slowest elevator in Chicago. At one point I watched it go up and down for 20 min before I got to my room. Just not cool. It is an older building and is no way new. But I enjoyed my stay. Everyone was always nice and the cleaning people did a great job. My wife would have not stayed here with the shower and smell situation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thank you for your review and for your recent stay. We are pleased your selected our hotel and enjoyed our location and your modern, spacious room. We will investigate the smell issue you wrote about. Thank you again and please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our second time using Comfort Suites-Michigan Ave for our business trip to Chicago and we were just as impressed as the first time. Sales Manager Kristina Soukup listened carefully to what our business needs were going to be and delivered on every count. The rooms were generous, with sitting areas that allowed us to meet comfortably with clients. A complimentary hot breakfast with many offerings allowed us to eat and get back to work without losing a lot of time and the hotel is bang in the center of many excellent restaurants and walking distance to Millennium Park. Twenty-four hour front desk facilities allowed us to fax documents to our office at 3AM. Staff is pleasant, professional, and willing to go the extra step for its guests. The midnight staff even collated and stapled a business document for a 6:30AM meeting deadline , of their own accord, when then sensed we were running late on time. From start to finish, this is the hotel you want if you have business in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeatherWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for the kind comments regarding Kristina. I am so glad her and our team was able to take care of your business needs. We hope to be your choice for business travel in Chicago. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing