We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good for Families and Business Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here – with my family in tow (1 wife and 2 sons) – while attending a seminar in Chicago. I was looking for a good value and a place spacious enough to accommodate all of us. What I found was an good value, lots of space and a great location. We stayed in a suite which had two Queen beds which included a full kitchen and a washer/dryer combo.

Pros
-FREE WiFi (not something you always get in downtown Chicago)
-GREAT location – it was a half-block from the river and within walking distance to the majority of downtown attractions (Navy Pier, Milennium Park, Chicago Art Institute, Magnificent Mile) and plenty of restaurants. It was close to mass transit lines
-Spacious room
-Standard free breakfast which was adequate

Cons
-When we arrived we found the duvet cover on one of the beds and the fitted sheet on the other bed to be stained. After visiting the front desk, a housekeeper was sent up to change both.
-The sponge left at the kitchen sink had been used (it was stained.)
-The non-slip lining of the tub was old and peeling away around the drain.
-The room was not vacuumed daily.
-When towels were replaced the first day, no washcloths were left. We had to go to the front desk to get some.
-$37/day charge for valet parking. They share valet service with the Hard Rock Hotel so finding the actual drop-off point was very difficult upon arriving in the city. We even called the -Comfort Suites front desk as we were driving around and were given inaccurate directions. When you see the Hard Rock valet area, STOP, this is the place you need to be to drop off your car.

As others have mentioned, this is not the most up-to-date or luxurious option, but it is great for families on a budget and business travelers needing a no-frills, extended stay room downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_A_Guy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We are truly grateful for your patronage and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am glad you found value in our spacious all suite hotel and am happy you enjoyed your experience. Please do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Comfort Suites in Chicago. We were on a budget, but still wanted a good location in the city, and this place fit the bill. Our suite was roomy, with a living area, small kitchen area and separate bedroom. The living area had a pull out sofa bed which was perfect for our teenager. The king size bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but functional. The staff were incredibly helpful, and actually seemed to enjoy their jobs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDGal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

I was so happy to read your review. I am so glad you experienced our wonderful staff doing what they do best, providing great guest services. Thank you so much for the business and please do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Front desk agent, Dave, was awesome!! He was so patient with us and helped us find our way through the city. I have worked in a hotel for years and know what it takes to keep guests happy and how stressful it can be to handle phones and guests. Our room was clean and no bed bugs, thank God! Close to everything we did!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words regarding David, I am glad he helped make your experience a memorable one, I was also happy to learn you enjoyed our convienent city center location. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

What a well-kept secret. But it won't be for long! The prices are too good to be true. A prime location with fantastic views of the city. Our room overlooked Michigan Avenue as well as the bridge over the river. And then, guess what, a free breakfast. That is unheard of for a metropolitan hotel! The rooms are large, spacious, and clean. Love the two tvs and the quality linens and towels. And here's the icing on the cake: A fantastic staff!! Thanks to the desk clerks, the doorman, and to Patrick Kennedy for giving us a great weekend in downtown Chicago!! ☺

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review and your business. I am so glad the staff was fantastic and that you enjoyed our features and our one of a kind views. Please contact me to arrange your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

this hotel is well located in downtown chicago! busway is near by.. big and clean room. staffs is very friendly!... the only thing i didnt like, was the elevator, it was a small and took long to go up and down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

We are so grateful for your repeat business. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location and found us to be the perfect fit for your convention stay. We hope to see you again soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great property strategically and conveniently located in Chicago. This is my second stay within the last 2 years and it was consistant with the first experience. Both stays were in a suite complete laundry and kitchen facilities which are great for an extended stay. Rooms are clean and beds/pillows are comfortable - a real value when compared with other luxury hotels within walking distance. I had no problem catching a cab right outside the door or to walk Michagan to shopping and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when traveling to Chicago for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Stayed on the Michigan facing side both times and not noise on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

I so much enjoyed reading your review and I thank you for your repeat visits. I am glad you enjoy our unbeatable location and friendly staff. Please contact me to arrange your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a really nice appartment although the building doesn't look any good on the outside.
It was a large app with all the necessary conveniences you could look for, for example two flatscreen tv's complete kitchen and washer and dryer. This was in the center of Chicago just 150 yards from the Wrigley Building and the Magnificent Mile, and within walking distance of the Navy Pier.

Room Tip: Great view from the app on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cromwell2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

I was so happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us including our in room features, unbeatable location and stunning views. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#71 of 192 in Chicago
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £82 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing