We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #49 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay at Comfort Suites. The room was amazing. We stayed on the 22nd floor facing Michigan Ave. Beautiful view of the city. The room was exactly what we requested. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. We had a few issues with the kitchen track lighting and a bedroom light-the staff sent up maintenance and they arrived immediately and they fixed the problem. Also the sofa sleeper had a problem with the mattress and they sent up a cot to try and fix the situation. It did not resolve the problem due to an uncomfortable cot. We spoke to the front desk staff the next morning and they quickly switched out our room and moved us into the executive suite on the 25th floor. They moved over our luggage while we were out enjoying the city and also called us to tell us when the new room was available. Staff was the best we have ever experienced. We travel frequently and have never had this type of service. We will definitely be back in the spring. We loved our stay!!!!

Room Tip: High floor facing Michigan Ave. Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dtaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to making your stay enjoyable! Our team will be delighted to see that their service levels exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in Spring!
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    505
    141
    40
    34
See reviews for
578
483
88
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

There are a lot of choices in Chicago as to where to stay - I would certainly rate the Comfort Suites at the top of list for value received. I was on business in Chicago from early October to right before the Christmas holiday, every week. The Comfort Suite's staff and accommodations were consistently excellent - to keep a high standard each week is noticeable.

I actually got sleep, for those on the road like me you know what I'm talking about. The pillows are great.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your making us your hotel of choice while in Chicago. We are delighted to see that we consistently made your visits enjoyable. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014 when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I travel to Chicago for two weeks out of each month on business. For all of 2013, Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue was my property of choice. It is an extremely convenient location, value priced, with an outstanding, friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdalyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for making us your home away from home in 2013. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014 when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Without a doubt the Comfort Suites location, room size and housekeeping are all A1, however we were somewhat disappointed with the staff's knowledge, actual room facilities and the "breakfast".
Staff were not that familiar with basic questions about the area and indeed gave incorrect information. Such basic information as to shuttle buses to the airport was met with - you can look it up online as was our enquiry about the hop on- hop off tour. Our room also did not have the advertised washer dryer and when we approached the front desk - we were asked 3 times whether we were sure that there was none in the room (sadly we do know what a washer/dryer looks like) and then told that they are upgrading washer dryers on floor 11 - mixed messages!
Finally the "breakfast" was disappointing - at 8.30am - all out of hot food and at 6.30am a fairly limited choice. All in all - a very average stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with our breakfast and staff service. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at the property.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next in Chicago so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

You cannot beat the location - close to Michigan Avenue, the Millenium Station, the park, Navy Pier, etc. This was our third stay at this hotel over the past two years. The first stay was great, the second left a lot to be desired due to a very run-down room. We decided to try again but we were prepared to ask for a cleaner/repaired room, if necessary. We lucked out - a beautiful queen suite on the 24th floor with amazing views of both Michigan Ave and Millenium Park! Our children never even put the TV on (and neither did we!) as there was so much to see out the window at night. The full kitchen, barstool/counter, couch, desk area was nice size. The bedroom had no doors but yet was quite private due to the way the walls are arranged. The bathroom was clean. Everything was in good repair - thank goodness! Our biggest complaint was that one of the two elevators was out of service our entire stay. The other elevator was not enough to meet the demands of the guests so the wait was LONG...we timed 11 minutes for one of our waits. In fact there was one time that we eventually gave up and had to descend all 24 flights of stairs, with our children. :S They claim that it is being 'serviced' but I can assure you that every visit we have experienced elevator troubles like this. This stay was the most noticeable due to our being on such a high floor. We would consider again but 1) I will never settle for disrepair/dirty again and 2) if the broken elevator game continues it will become a deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Michigan Ave. The view is amazing! Rooms on the backside are rundown and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazy4Pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We truly value your feedback as valued return guests. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your suite! I certainly apologize for the elevator situation you experienced. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to assist you.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The first impression did not promise much: small lobby, slightly dirty elevator and small corridor with a wall in a poor condition. However, the room was spacious, quiet and clean. The bed was confortable. The bathroom was small but clean and in a good condition. Even the corridor was fixed and painted during our stay.

There was a standard breakfast - nothing special but suprisingly they offered low fat products (rare in US). The breakfast room is rather small and some morning it was difficult to get a seat.

The location could hardly be any better. For this reason alone this hotel is worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 978Jule31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are delighted that despite a less than perfect first impression, you enjoyed your suite and our breakfast offerings. We would be honored to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago!

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had the most marvelous experience at this property, which was very convenient to everything and provided us with a beautiful large suite overlooking the sweep of Michigan Avenue and the Chicago River. The desk manager, Nader, was exceptional, friendly, intelligent and more than accommodating. He selected the perfect suite for our visit, which was booked on rewards points. All the staff was so friendly and helpful. Not a fancy lobby, but who needs it. This is a great stay for tourists or business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Nader will be thrilled to see your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the view from the suite and our property. We would be honored to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago!

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing