We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, big room, lovely people (but awful breakfast!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #52 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great location, big room, lovely people (but awful breakfast!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pretty much as per the title, really..

There are loads of places to eat & drink within a short walk, the rooms [suites] are large and very comfortable, the wifi is good and the kitchen is well equipped. The Staff are really friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their days (or they're just very good actors!). The decor is a bit old and tired, and some parts of the room need some repainting or replacing but that's life in a cheapish hotel.

but the breakfast is awful! paper plates, plastic cutlery, and what seemed like pre-cooked, frozen and re-heated cheese omelettes the main option. I was there for a week and preferred to pay in a cafe round the corner rather than eat free in the hotel. It's still great value, even without free breakfast, but takes a bit of the shine off.

I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with our breakfast offerings. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We would be honored to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    497
    140
    39
    33
See reviews for
565
472
87
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great service and a friendly, accommodating staff made our stay in a fully furnished apartment even more special. If you're lucky, you'll get a corner room on an upper floor, with a view that most people don't get in 5 star hotels. With lots of great shopping, theatre and restaurants in the area, as well as the Art Institute, you won't run out of things to do. Easily worth $200 a night, but sometimes you can get it for a lot less online.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our apartment style accommodations and our location. Our staff will be delighted to read your kind compliments! We cannot wait to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The team at Comfort Suites downtown Chicago are unparalleled. They are always friendly and even remember my name. My favorite feature is that each room has a washer and dryer. I can return home after a long business trip with clean clothes! I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieCA228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Our staff will be delighted to read your kind compliments! We cannot wait to welcome you back when you are next in Chicago.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay at Comfort Suites. The room was amazing. We stayed on the 22nd floor facing Michigan Ave. Beautiful view of the city. The room was exactly what we requested. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. We had a few issues with the kitchen track lighting and a bedroom light-the staff sent up maintenance and they arrived immediately and they fixed the problem. Also the sofa sleeper had a problem with the mattress and they sent up a cot to try and fix the situation. It did not resolve the problem due to an uncomfortable cot. We spoke to the front desk staff the next morning and they quickly switched out our room and moved us into the executive suite on the 25th floor. They moved over our luggage while we were out enjoying the city and also called us to tell us when the new room was available. Staff was the best we have ever experienced. We travel frequently and have never had this type of service. We will definitely be back in the spring. We loved our stay!!!!

Room Tip: High floor facing Michigan Ave. Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dtaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to making your stay enjoyable! Our team will be delighted to see that their service levels exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in Spring!
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

There are a lot of choices in Chicago as to where to stay - I would certainly rate the Comfort Suites at the top of list for value received. I was on business in Chicago from early October to right before the Christmas holiday, every week. The Comfort Suite's staff and accommodations were consistently excellent - to keep a high standard each week is noticeable.

I actually got sleep, for those on the road like me you know what I'm talking about. The pillows are great.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your making us your hotel of choice while in Chicago. We are delighted to see that we consistently made your visits enjoyable. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014 when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I travel to Chicago for two weeks out of each month on business. For all of 2013, Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue was my property of choice. It is an extremely convenient location, value priced, with an outstanding, friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdalyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for making us your home away from home in 2013. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014 when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Without a doubt the Comfort Suites location, room size and housekeeping are all A1, however we were somewhat disappointed with the staff's knowledge, actual room facilities and the "breakfast".
Staff were not that familiar with basic questions about the area and indeed gave incorrect information. Such basic information as to shuttle buses to the airport was met with - you can look it up online as was our enquiry about the hop on- hop off tour. Our room also did not have the advertised washer dryer and when we approached the front desk - we were asked 3 times whether we were sure that there was none in the room (sadly we do know what a washer/dryer looks like) and then told that they are upgrading washer dryers on floor 11 - mixed messages!
Finally the "breakfast" was disappointing - at 8.30am - all out of hot food and at 6.30am a fairly limited choice. All in all - a very average stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie F, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with our breakfast and staff service. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at the property.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next in Chicago so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#62 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing