We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #51 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location and Value”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here to attend a meeting at a nearby hotel. I found the room was very capacious, clean, and well-appointed. It was comfortable and quiet, because it was on the 8th floor, even though it was on a busy Chicago street. My wife also joined me for part of the stay (it was Valentine's Day) and she was also very impressed with the comfort, facilities, and roominess of the suite. We were hoping that our son could pop over from Indiana (weather precluded it) and the layout would have allowed him to use the folding bed in the "living room" area and given us all sufficient privacy.

It was convenient to the meeting hotel and easy walking distance from attractions like the Art Institute and the architectural walking tour. The kitchenette was a nice plus to help keep costs down for breakfast/lunch; there was a nice deli nearby to get bread, meat and cheese for sandwiches. The staff was very helpful answering questions and steering us to resources or nearby attractions. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor if you can to avoid the traffic noise on busy Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel room size. Also that our staff was very attentive to your needs. Thanks for the review! We hope to see you again.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation with us.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    509
    142
    40
    35
See reviews for
587
485
89
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed here twice. Both times, I got a great rate on a King Suite. The suite was great. I was able to cook and save money on meals, and there was a washer and dryer in the suite also. For a long-term stay, it was so nice (and money and time saving) to be able to do laundry right there in the suite. The bedroom is separate from the living room and kitchen, so if one person goes to bed earlier, the other can stay up without disturbing them. The hotel is in great location with public transportation right outside. The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank CJJAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear CJJAus,

Thank you so much for your recent review. My staff will enjoy your comments on them being friendly and professional. We are a great hotel for long term stays since our room size is like an apartments. We hope to see you soon!

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location and for the money you just can't beat it. You get a spacious suite with both a living room and a bedroom. You also get a kitchen which is great when you have leftovers and want to save them. You could even cook a meal but why would you with all the great food in Chicago? We traveled with our son and grandson. They had their own room with 2 queen beds that was equally spacious. They even had a washing machine. It was walking distance to practically everything including the art museum or just short cab ride to some other "can't miss" locations such as the natural history museum area. The breakfast was fine too. Rooms were very clean -- we had no complaints at all. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank JudyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear JudyLosAngeles,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I enjoyed all of your great comments on the hotel. My staff will enjoy your comment on them being friendly and helpful. We hope to see you soon.

Please tell me if I can personally make your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

When you get off the elevator , it is a small tiny hallway with 4 rooms. But then you open your door , there is a narrow hallway, then wow- open space . Room was huge - was an efficiency had a small kitchen area. Hotel was clean. Hotel was a great location for our trip! Would stay there again!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DLJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear DLJWalker,

Thank you so much for your recent review. Our room sizes are some of the largest in the city and our location is great. Thank you so much for the review.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Comfort suites is well located, near by the Michigan river, millenium park, and so on. You can reach the main Chicago´s landmarks from there. The room is big, but all the furniture, bathroom and air cycle system are too old. The carpet was full of dust, there was a very dirty sofa there which provided a really umpleasent smell in the room. The air cycle machine was very noisy and impossible to turn off.

I was there during a medical congress and thought it was a bad cost benefit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Roberta T,

Thank you for your recent review. Our location is one of the best in City. We have remodeled our breakfast room and common area hallways. Also we have added new furniture within our guest rooms. Each day we continue to touch up the hotel and you will see it change the next time you are hear. You might have gotten a room that had not been touched up yet. We are sincerely sorry for that.

We hope to see you soon. Please contact me when you would like to come back.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
437 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location of this Comfort Suites can't be beat. It is right on Michigan Avenue which is close to everything. Parking is a pain & very expensive but it's Chicago - so we deal with it. Check-in was quick & smooth. I had a coupon for 10% off but wasn't allowed to use it because I already had the senior rate & they considered that 2 discounts for the same room. The lobby is very small but the business center & breakfast area are wonderful. Rooms are very expensive but again, it's Chicago. The wifi connection kept dropping off so that was a pain. We always got right back on so I don't know if the hotel just needs stronger signals or what. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable & I loved the choice of soft and firm pillows. The room was very large with a full kitchen although only had 2 forks of different sizes & no initial supply of dish soap or even a travel size to use. Full roll of paper towels though so that was convenient. The refrigerator was really cold & would freeze a bottle of water in 30 minutes. Loved that because we didn't have to try to find an ice machine. The room had tons of closet space, a safe & washer/dryer but again no detergent to use, even a sample pack. That would be one thing that would make the stay much better. The couch in the living room was very uncomfortable to sit on. It was saggy & lumpy & you had to use the throw pillows to support your back & still you felt like you were sliding toward the center. Since the couch was directly in front of the TV, you almost had to sit on it to watch TV. My husband used the desk chair most of the time. There were 2 bar stools next to the very large kitchen counter top, which was nice. The bathroom counter top area was small and you had to hold the handle down on the toilet in order for it to complete a full flush but the bathroom itself was fine, nice towels & good water flow from the shower. From our living room window in Room 2304, we could see the Chicago River & the tour/pleasure boats enjoying it. If you're a Trump fan, you had a great view of the Trump hotel that sits along the river too. There seems to be only 4 rooms per floor so you don't have to walk down any long hallways. Unfortunately our neighbors were extremely noisy & about 2AM we had to call the front desk to ask if they could do anything about them. It was at least another hour before they quieted down. It's a shame that hotel guests don't realize how loud they are when their rooms are right next to or across from others - common courtesy should tell you that most people are trying to sleep at 2AM. The morning breakfast was good. They had little cheese omelets which were good, A very good variety of food was available. Check out went smoothly & as long as your bill is what you think it should be, all you have to do is drop your keys at the front desk - no waiting necessary. Overall, a wonderful stay, would stay again & would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view....2304 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear DDDFJD,

Thank you for your recent review. Your review was very detailed! Thank you so much for that. We have extra utensils upon request and have detergent available in our market place. Our omelets are very good and we have one of the best locations.

We hope to see you soon! Please tell me if I can make your next reservation for you.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soo, mi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The suites are very large and clean, the location is fantastic, and the staff is friendly. Within walking distance to Millenium Park, Grant Park, museums, Magnificent Mile and the River Walk. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: higher the better . floors 25-27 have small balconies with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank cedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear cedmonds,

Thank you so much for your recent review. Thank for stating our rooms are very clean. Our housekeeping staff will be very happy read to your review. We do hope to see you again soon.

Please tell me if I can assist you with your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Property: Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing