We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, good-size rooms, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great points about this hotel :
(1) Location, location, location ...
(2) Location, location, location - right on the amazing Michigan Avenue at the heart of downtown, just steps away from tour pickups (e.g, Chicago Trolley & Double-Decker), from a picturesque stroll along the Michigan Avenue bridge, river taxis, river cruises, with simple food options next door (e.g. Chipotle, Subway), Chicago sports store, souvenir store and a Walgreens. Even a Giordano's (the best Chicago-stlye pizza) is only a few blocks away. Portillo's & Barnelli's on Ontario Avenue is about a 15 minute walk. The Magnificent Mile is less than a 10 minute walk north, and Millenium Park and Art Institute are about a 15 minute walk south. Short cab rides to Navy Pier, 360, SkyDeck, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium or around 30 minutes walk to each if you don't mind.
(3) Valet and self-parking are more affordable than other hotels in the area and breakfast (although average quality and the same exact items during our 4-day stay) is free, which is unheard of in other hotels in the area
(4) Room (double-queen) was spacious and fully equipped with washer-dryer (if needed) and full kitchen and fridge/freezer, with dishes, cutlery, etc - if you need to microwave or cook your own food and dine in the comfort of your own room, these were great-to-have. it felt like staying in a fully equipped apartment-hotel.
(5) Staff is friendly and helpful. Generously gave us late checkout for free until 2 pm on our last day, and also hooked us up with discounted tickets for the architectural boat tour.

Not-so-great points about this hotel:
(1) Hotel is dated and needs a make-over. Room on 21st floor was dark. Room felt hot as A/C was not effective even though it was a nice 20-25 C outside. Even at its lowest temperature setting, it still wasn't sufficient. TV was substandard quality. Shower tub had permanent stains. The hallways coming out of the room/elevator smelled and the shower curtain had an unpleasant odor - they need to be replaced with fresh new ones.
(2) Wi-fi was slow and connection was consistently spotty.
(3) The same staff member who comp'd us on the late checkout and discounted tour tickets would at times give inexact info, e.g. indicating that the boat tour office was about a 5 minute walk when it was significantly further from the hotel (requiring us to take a short cab ride to get there in time) and telling us that the quoted prices already included applicable taxes when they didn't, surprising us a little with an additional $15 balance when we arrived at the tour. Minor inconveniences, all things considered, and no harm intended, I am sure. Perhaps just a little careless.

Overall, I'd recommend the hotel for its exceptional convenience and relative affordability (cheaper by Chicago downtown standards, but not a bargain by any means), but some facility renovations/improvements are in order.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YMHTHZML0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear YMHTHZML0405,

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and to point out so many of the great things about the Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue! We really appreciate it and hope that you will come to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Well to begin with this was my third stay in this hotel same location (Michigan Ave.) hotel staff was very nice and friendly can't say anything about the food because we had pizza from Gio's. The rooms are very clean and comfy. However, I wish the sofa had more cushion. Overall we had a great experience and will surely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario552000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Mario552000,

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and to point out so many of the great things about the Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue! We really appreciate it and hope that you will come to visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Great location next to river across from Wrigley Building. Easy walk down Michigan Ave, close to restaurants, shopping & tour pick ups. The staff was courteous & friendly. Free WI FI & breakfast was a plus. Just make sure you get to breakfast before 9am. Downsides for us: rooms are very dated, a/c had to be on or off (would not turn off by setting temp), hallways & elevators smelt like sewage (the entire 4 day stay), no vending machines (front desk kept $3 sodas but wasn't always stocked), breakfast ended to early on weekends and our beds were the least comfortable we've slept in for many months (they slumped to the center). Prob won't stay again due to the reasons stated above.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank KyRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2014

Dear KyRDH,

Thank you very much for the time to write a review. We are sorry that we did not meet you expectations. The next time you are in Chicago allow me to personally reservation for you so you can see that your issues have been resolved.

Kindest Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a fantastic Chicago location, just a half block south of the river on Michigan Ave so its close to just about everything. However, the rooms are dated and need to be refreshed. The public areas are tiny, tiny and on my recent stay, we had a very argumentative front desk staff member after having to move from one room with broken AC and wet carpets to another. Do stay if you want a nice clean location, but if you want more go elsewhere.

Room Tip: great views the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2014

Dear Bob D,

Thank you very much for the time to write a review. We are sorry that we did not meet you expectations. The next time you are in Chicago allow me to personally reservation for you so you can see that your issues have been resolved.


Kindest Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

40 minute wait in lobby to check and then we're told after booking a room with 2 queen beds, that a queen and a sofa sleeper were the same thing.
Ice Machine on 1st floor...room was on the 20th floor.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Patti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2014

Dear Patti E,

Thank you very much for the time to write a review. We are sorry that we did not meet you expectations. The next time you are in Chicago allow me to personally reservation for you so you can see that your issues have been resolved.


Kindest Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was the first time I stayed there and I was thrilled with the staff and the hotel. The location was perfect for walking and transportation. The price was reasonable for the location close to all our needs.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor outside a few sirens all was good. Room was a little too cold when we arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TmTrLv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2014

Dear TmTrLv4,

Thank you very much for the time to write a review - we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Terrible body /nasty orders on the 17th floor. complained many times but it was not fixed. Had to literally hold my breath while waiting for an elevator , and almost vomited from the odors being piped in thru the ventilation system. Terrible!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear jack h,

I am so sorry about your recent experience. This is not a common occurrence as you can tell by our Trip Advisor reviews. I am unaware of what odor you are referring to and I would like to speak to further about it. Please email me at gm@comfortsuiteschicago.com and we can exchange phone numbers.

Warm Regards,

Robert Humphrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,140 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £65 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing