We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #52 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This Hotel is in walking distance to a lot of attractions. Just ask at front desk. They were very helpful. If you have the City Pass you will have to catch the bus to the museums. The 146 will take you to Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, and Alder Planetarium. Take the 6 to Museum of science And Industry. For the John Hancock Observatory you can either walk or take the 151 or 147 which stops near the front of the hotel. Also the bus drivers are very helpful, just ask.
We loved the washer and dryer in the room. Came home with clean clothes, and you can pack light to make room for all the shopping you will do. Beds were very comfortable, and bathroom was a little on the small side. I will stay here again!!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank TheresaB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience at our city center all-suite hotel. We are so happy you found our location convenient to all of Chicago’s top attractions and that you enjoyed the size of your room and our amenities such as the washer and dryer. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

After reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor about this hotel, I expected an average experience. The staff were nice when we interacted with them, the room was HUGE with an amazing view of North Michigan Ave (and the water), everything worked in the room, the bed was super comfortable and the price was tough to beat downtown (less than $100). Location was prime as well. Less than five minutes to the l-train. Full kitchen to reheat any food bought outside and perfect if you wanted to have a bunch of friends stay at the same hotel for a pre-drink or just hanging out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2010

I am so glad to learn that the hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations. The entire staff of Comfort Suites is so happy you witnessed firsthand our commitment to providing superior accommodations with outstanding guest services at an affordable price. We look forward to opportunity to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Our (2 bedroom) suite was clean and well-maintained. Service is exceptional. For example, the maid came in one morning while I was doing the dishes and smilingly took over. The suite was great--as spacious as most 2 bedroom apartments. Location can't be beat--downtown with many dining and shopping options. Bus stop right outside and easy walk to the subway. We are already talking about trying to get the same suite next time. Exceptional value considering the kitchen facilities and size of the rooms. I only wish that breakfast lasted a little later in the morning on weekdays and started earlier on weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmereldaSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

Thank you for your business and for writing about your experience. I am very happy to learn you witnessed our commitment to excellence in guest services first hand and your accommodations exceeded your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to host you during your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Pros:
Huge rooms with living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, flat screen tv's, great view, friendly staff, and very CENTRAL location.

Cons:
Parking was difficult as the hotel's parking is across the street in another building, but I suspect parking in downtown is generally challenging.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y_n_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2010

We appreciate the time you took to write about your experience at our new hotel and for your business. I am happy to read you found our staff accommodating and you enjoyed your oversized suite in our great location. When you come back please contact me directly so I can help arrange our valet parking for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed at the Comfort Suites on Michigan Avenue over MLK weekend 2010. It was a good experience. I received a well-appointed suite with a full kitchen and washer/dryer and living area. The location is good, less then a block from River North, close to the Macys shopping district, close to the El, and directly on several bus lines should you want to go elsewhere in Chicago using public transport. The breakfast was standard Comfort Suites fare...an acceptable but not spectacular continental breakfast with eggs, bacon, and hot waffles.

I did not particularly care for the staff at this hotel. While they were not rude or mean, I felt as though they were quite standoffish and unfriendly. The only person who seemed to be genuinely nice and friendly was one of the African-American bellhop/janitorial workers who actually went out of his way to give me directions to a particular restaurant and make sure everything was OK during my stay. The bathrooms at this hotel, although quite clean and full of international standard amenities, are very small and basic, so if you need luxurious bathrooms in your room this may not be the hotel for you.

Over all, I felt this hotel was a great value for the very cheap price I paid for it and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dls251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2010

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience at our new city center hotel. I am so glad to learn that you enjoyed our location and found value with our hotel. We are happy that Rob was able to assist you and recommend some dining options in the area. Should travels bring you back to Chicago both myself and our General Manager would love to help coordinate your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Our stay at the hotel was excellent. Staff provided great service in accomodating early check-in, good directions and recommended a number of great area activities. Rooms are well appointed and hotel is a convenient location to many Chicago attractions.

Beds are very comfortable as well. Definitely a great experience!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. I am so happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and we are especially happy you enjoyed our new luxurious pillow-top mattresses. Please let us know the next time you come to Chicago as we would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Booked a flight and hotel deal through Hotwire travelling from New York. Two nights and return flight was just over $500. Hotel is located in the Chicago Loop so close to many sightseeing locations. Check in was quick and very friendly. Suite was a full kitchen, small living area and separate bedroom with a very comfortable king-sized bed. Good pillows too. Two flat screen TV's. Rate included breakfast, which was okay. Suggest you get there before 8.30 though because the first morning we arrived after and there was only one orange, one tub of yoghurt, about 6 very well cooked rashers of bacon. There was a waffle maker to cook your own and one or two bagels to toast. Second morning my husband went down just after 8 and brought the fruit and yoghurt back to the room, more selection at that time. Room was very quiet, couldn't hear street noise and there certainly was no interior noise from other guests. The reception staff were very helpful on the first night when we wanted suggestions of a grill close by, and gave us a card to have free appetisers. This was certainly a gem for the price and would definitely recommend for any travellers. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

All of us at the Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue thanks you for your stay and review. We are so glad to read you found our staff friendly and accommodating, we also enjoyed reading how ideal you found our city center location. Please contact us if we can make arrangements for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 191 in Chicago
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £92 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing