We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative to the Hyatt during a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed in Chicago for 5 nights during a conference in November. The conference venue was at the Hyatt Regency, just a couple of blocks away from the Comfort Suites. The hotel was considerably cheaper, included internet and breakfast, pretty much everything the conference hotel didn't have. In addition, the location was superb next to the river on Michigan Ave, walking distance from shops, cafes, sightseeing locations, etc. The room was huge! almost a self contained apartment with a kitchen, fridge, oven, room to iron, etc. The corridor was a bit smelly (like a pipe burst or something), but the smell didn't go into the room. I will definitely stay here again if I'm back in Chicago!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TUKO666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for your review and for your recent stay. We are glad you found over location convenient for your conference and that our amenities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2010

Our family includes 2 teenage boys. This was our first trip ever to Chicago. The room we had was spacious, clean and included 2 TV's, so the boys could choose what they wanted to watch in our down-time. The view was great, watching the lights at night never got boring. I cannot say enough about the staff....They were so friendly and helpful, from assisting us with bus routes, checking on times, to recommending a wonderful place to eat and how to get there. They held our bags after we checked out, as our train didn't leave til 4pm. There was something for everyone at breakfast, and the water pressure in the shower was great. The price, the location, the size of the room, the cleanliness, and most important, the helpfulness of the staff is a reason we will most assuredly stay here again on our next trip. Kudos to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for your kudos to our staff. I am so glad your found our staff helpful and accommodating and that you enjoyed your time with us in your spacious suite with a view. We cannot wait to host you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We chose this hotel because of the location-right on Michigan Avenue 2 blocks from Millennium Station. We took the train into Chicago and stayed one night here. The front desk staff was the most friendly we have encountered in a long time. We had a King Suite on the 24th floor. The room was immaculate and extremely spacious. The hotel was filled with travelers but it was so quiet. The way our floor was laid out, you could not hear guests around you. The view of Chicago from our room was great. The breakfast area is a little small and cramped but there was a decent amount and the staff quickly refilled everything. Breakfast offerings: waffle, eggs, bacon, yogurt, bagels, muffins, danish, coffee, juice cereal, fruit, milk.. When we checked out the next day, we asked if we could leave our luggage and was enthusiastically told yes, no problem. We walked to Navy Pier, took a cab back ($7.00) and picked up our luggage. The woman at the desk was very friendly--something we didn't expect in downtown Chicago. We highly recommend staying at this hotel. the price is right and the location is convenient walking distance to everything in Chicago. I have added a few pictures of our room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

I was so happy to read that you found value at our city center hotel and that our front desk team impressed you with their enthusiasm and customer service. Thank you so much for your business and I truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Everything from the staff to the room accomodations was outstanding. This was my first trip to Chicago and I am looking forward to seeing the city again. I will certainly book this hotel when I go back. The complimentary breakfast was very good and there was plenty to choose from. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions to local eateries. They really hook you up. Even when my trip home was delayed because of a snow storm (cancelled flight), it was no big deal to them and they were able to keep me in my same room for an extra night. Thanks so much for a delightful stay. I will for sure see you again when in the Windy City.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clista0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and for your business. I am happy that you enjoyed our front desk agents and that we were able to accommodate you when your travel plans changed. We hope you come back to Chicago and visit us often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I am in charge of arrangements for an annual shopping trip with friends and came across this hotel while searching online. After reading several reviews and checking rates, this seemed to be a good fit for what we were looking for. The rates at the hotel we had stayed at the past couple of years was just too high this year. This turned out to be an even better hotel for what we like! The rate was great, the location even more convenient and there were more amenities!

If you're looking to be in a location close to shopping the State & Washington Streets area and Michigan Avenue you can't get much better than this. All rooms are suites with a full kitchen, laundry and walk-in closets. The only negative was the small bathroom but it was functional. Breakfast is included in the price which was a bonus and valet parking is less expensive than other places we've stayed ($35.00/night).

We plan to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meli75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Thank you for your review and for your business. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us during your annual trip and that you enjoyed our room size, amenities and location. We hope to welcome you and your friends back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel is located conveniently between the Loop and The Magniicent Mile making it easy to walk to shopping, restaurants, and many attractions. You get a fully equipped kitchen, a livingroom, and bedroom for very reasonable rates for downtown Chicago. The free breakfast is average. The service was great and the staff was helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a convenient base to explore downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aardvark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

I was happy to read your review. We are glad you found value at our downtown Chicago hotel and that you enjoyed your spacious suite and our staff. We look forward to hosting you again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our family stayed here over the Thanksgiving Holiday. This a great place to stay and has everything we needed: a spacious & clean suite, ideal location to just about everything, a nice breakfast and a pleasant and helpful staff. We thought parking would be a problem but it wasn't. Elevators are tiny but they worked fine and never had any problems. Only thing we didn't enjoy were the powdered eggs on 1 of the days we stayed, but they had plenty to choose from. This is a great value and we'll be coming back! Thanks Comfort Suites staff!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisuretravel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickwalshkennedy, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience. I was happy to read that the staff help enhance your Thanksgiving in Chicago. We are thrilled you enjoyed your spacious suite, our location and our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#71 of 192 in Chicago
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop

Address: 320 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £82 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the award-winning Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue Chicago. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on North Michigan Avenue. Select from a range of beautifully designed studio, one- and two-bedroom downtown Chicago suites featuring nearly twice the space of the typical hotel room at a better value. Spacious and distinctly contemporary, each Chicago hotel suite blends the full range of guest amenities and services with an upscale residential feel and sweeping downtown views. Enjoy home-style comforts such as full kitchens, washers and dryers, complimentary high-speed Internet, and flat panel LCD televisions. Outside, the Windy City's best shopping, dining, and entertainment - including the famed Magnificent Mile - are just steps from our front door. Venture out and explore all that makes up our extraordinary city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chicago
Comfort Suites Chicago
Chicago Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing