We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nutcracker comes alive with live horses, a real carriage, & trick riding.”
Review of Noble Horse Theater - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Noble Horse Theater
Attraction details
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker comes alive with live horses, a real carriage, & trick riding.”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Went to the Noble Horse Theatre for the first time with my wife. Neither one us actually like horses, or so we thought, but we wanted to give the Nutcracker a shot with the horses because we read that the original productions of the work were in deed with horses. Wow! It was an awesome experience, and it filled every moment with something to thrill over or ponder. There was good acting by the human characters, the horses were stunning, and their was just the right amount of narration to go with scenes that needed it. The sound system delivers much of the historical Nutcracker score, and Noble Horse Theatre has also added complementary music written in the last twenty years or so. There were lots of kids in the audience, and it was a pleasant surprise to not hear a lot of whining, inappropriate yelling, or any other distracting thing, possibly because they were transfixed by what was unfolding all around them. Another cool thing was that a lot of the actors and actresses would walk through the audience seating before going into the performance area with the horses, and from the performance area there was clear interaction with the audience to stoke us to clap harder, to scream our excitement with more vigor, etcetera. After the performance, people could take photos with the horses or go for rides. No wonder this stable has been around since the early 1870's - they know how to care for and train the horses, but they also know how to keep an audience interested, intrigued, and involved. We will be back for another performance soon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hdbangr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good place for horse-lovers”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We went to see their Nutcracker show. It was quite good. The venue is very cool considering it's in the middle of Chicago. The horses are well-trained and kept nicely. The riders did a great job. This was not Cavalia, but was really worth the time and money. Considering we all own horses, everyone in our group found the experience positive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mssrfoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this,especially for anyone who loves horses”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I Went to see this with my husband and mother and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We saw the Nutcracker and thought it was a great holiday show and a very different way to present and enjoy the Nutcracker. I imagine that especially young girls who love horses (which I was once) will LOVE this show.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nannyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Show”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Wonderful entertainment and great value. Very family and kid friendly. They will give horseback rides to children after the show is over. We saw the "Legend of Sleepy Hollow" show and are thinking about going back to see the "Nutcracker". The horsemanship is unbelievable. Quick cab ride from the Ogilvie Metra station. The parking lot is very small.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, IN
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok.”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We went to an afternoon showing of the Quadrille and paid only $12 each to see the it due to a coupon. It was decent for $12, but I would not want to pay the whole $25 it normally costs. Most of the performance was not very good, just horses walking and trotting around. The storyline was so strange and random that it was laughable. There were a few good things though: the Roman riding and vaulting-type performances were very good, and it was nice that you could come up and feed the horses after the show. They also let the kids take a short ride on the horses (I do not think they charged extra).

Overall, probably worth it if you get a discount on the ticket price and live in/near Chicago. Otherwise, skip it.

Helpful?
1 Thank snaffle821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noble Horse Theater also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing