We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit in Chinatown”
Review of Chiu Quon Bakery

Chiu Quon Bakery
Ranked #42 of 252 Bakeries in Chicago
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Normal, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Visit in Chinatown”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Chiu Quon Bakery has been in Chinatown for a long time and it is well known within the community. It is a great place to get a quick snack. They have all kinds of bread/bun you can think of. The price just went up and they only accept cash! There is a ATM near by but if you are going to visit Chinatown in Chicago anyway, most places prefer cash and some of the places do not accept credit cards. Be prepare! Hope you will find this bakery interesting and great place to get some " Bow" meaning bread or bun in Chinese.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chanairtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were merely walking down the street, eagerly awaiting the arrival of friends so that we could enjoy dinner, and our eyes were caught by the beautiful pastries and foods inside the window. We returned after dinner and ordered several items.

Of the 3 cookies, 2 slices of cake and 3 pastries that were purchased, only one was left within 24 hours. We were astonished by how light the icing on the cakes was. Absolutely amazing!!! And the prices were incredibly reasonable!

I will be back!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ppltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great yue bing (moon cakes)”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Moon cakes are typically made in preparation for the Autumn Festival, and can be found in Chinese bakeries in the US and China. You don't want to miss these!

They are a little tai gui (expensive) compared to their competition, but still very tasty and more importantly, fresh and the real deal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a unique place. A true Chinese bakery. My hubby thought i was crazy for getting the Seasame pork cookies but they are yummy! sweet and savory. Their cakes look great as well. Can't wait to go back and try some more. The prices are awesome! Know what you want though- they are busy and more fast!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

After having one of the worse chinese lunches ever we ventured into this bakery to try and make up for lunch and boy were we glad we did!! Service was friendly and counter was just brimming with delictable creations! We purchased almond cookies, assorted filled breads and other sweet treats and everything was superb! They have a little section for seating in the back and it was filled with locals sitting and laughing and employees packaging baked goods obviously to be sent for commercial purchasing. A wonderful place!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dididb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiu Quon Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chiu Quon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing