We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and good service.”
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #2,144 of 9,599 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Linclon Ave
Description: The large attractive dining room seats about 30 comfortably, and the kitchen cranks out fresh vegetable dishes and spicy seafood entrees daily. Try the Royal Thai prawns or vegetable dumplings for an appetizer and the ginger chicken for an entree. Other dishes include kee mow (stir-fried noodles, lettuce, carrots, onions, bell peppers, bean sprouts, tomatoes and basil leaves), green curry, and Royal Thai Tofu. Lunch specials include an appetizer of your choice, soup (try the Tom Yum) and an entree today. Come to Royal Thai tonight for a charming, delicious BYOB Thai experience.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Delicious and good service.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

They had great food and fast service. You may want to call ahead for reservations because the location is very small, only 9 or 10 tables. While we were sitting there eating dinner, about three parties were turned away due to a lack of space during dinner time on a Saturday night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy little place with great service and amazing food!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great food! Stopped in on a walk visiting lincoln square. Had the cashew chicken and the flavored were great. Service was quick and very polite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alankford11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We were very hungry and found this restaurant while exploring the neighborhood. The pot stickers were excellent, as was the scallops and the golden noodles. The BYOB option would be nice for special occasion dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quick Thai Fix”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Me and my husband just happened to be walking past and thought it was perfect for our lunch time craving. The atmosphere is intimate and I love small places like that, they always have the best food and they did not disappoint. We started with the crab rangoon and it had a lot of filling instead of just a ton of fried wonton, the flavor was refreshing. Then I had the sesame chicken, which was not as heavy as most sesame chicken dishes I had and I could really taste the zest from the oranges. Moderately priced too.
I think their lunch menu has some good bargains, BUT the waitress did not inform us of any such menu even though everyone else who came while we were there did get presented one. Not a fan of inconsistency, but otherwise I was pleased.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Around”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is one of the few Thai restaurants in our area and it is by far the best. The food is soooo tasty, and a good spiciness, too, in case that is our thing (it is mine :})
Tried several dishes there so far, never disappointed, the classic curries are magnificent and they have great appetizers. It is a BYOB place and the food is not pricy at all and still fantastic! They do fast delivery as well, only downside might be the early closing hours (9.30 on weekdays, 10 pm on weekends).
It is a small but cozy, very authentic place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing