We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:15
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co.
from US$30.99
More Info
from US$124.00
More Info
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
175
113
69
41
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
113
69
41
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass night tour tour guides are hop on hop great tour buy tickets wrigley field stops route rosetta commentator information overview sites downtown kent neighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Experience is the worst teacher of nature, It first passes the test and then it gives the lesson. This tour is as bad as it gets. The waiting is annoying and furthermore in their cost reduction efforts the buses which are really old and smelly do not provide air condition in the lower floor. The only positive thing I can say about this is a very nice tour guide which unfortunately I do not remember her name but worked at Potbelly and was really into food, she was really funny and was the highlight of this company.

1  Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTandDD, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co., responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Juan,

We apologize that you did not enjoy your tour. We do not promote air conditioning on the bottom of our double decker buses as we encourage our guests to sit on top for the great views of the city. Our buses do have air on the bottom but with the open staircase it becomes hard to keep the buses cool, that is why we do not promote this. We have been in business in Chicago for 25 years and pride ourselves in the love of our city and we believe our tour reflects that. We hope you can come back soon, sit on top and give our tour another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

So my new “trick” is to take these double decker bus tours on my first day in a new city. This gives you a great chance to have someone drive you around and if you’re lucky enough to get an excellent tour guide you’ll learn a lot. This was the case today. The drive was smooth and the tour guide very knowledgeable about the history, architecture, shopping, music, etc. He made great recommendations and demonstrated pride in his city. Now I know where I want to go back and spend time and what I want to do during the balance of my stay here.

Thank E7864ENjuliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTandDD, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co., responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for the great review! We couldn't agree more - taking a double decker tour is the best way to experience Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We did this trip on a very warm day in mid June and we happened to have a brilliant host telling it as he said “like it is” an interesting way to do the tour learning about the city highly recommend and great value.

Thank JamesB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTandDD, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co., responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for taking time to send us a review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time - come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to use this company, we waited in the rain for 40 minutes while the competition bus company had four buses go by. Walker one of the two tour guides made up for it with intelligent & interesting commentary. But due to the waiting time we were too frightened to get off at any of the sites

Thank lyndellpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTandDD, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co., responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sending us a review. We apologize about the wait times and we appreciate your patience with us during a rainy day. Sometimes, with the rain comes extra downtown traffic which pushes our wait times longer than we would like. We are sorry for that. But, we are glad you enjoyed your tour and your guide! We hope you can come back and ride with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Seven of my business friends needed something to do on a Saturday morning. Got tickets outside the Chicago Hilton and went on a very informative tour of Chicago. We hopped on but never hopped off. There were many places you could get off and visit but decided to just view the sites from the top of the bus. The tour lasted two and a half hours. There were two tour guides who knew their stuff.

1  Thank BimmerZ42018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTandDD, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Trolley & Double Decker Co., responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to send us a review! We are glad you and your colleagues had a great time on our tour and got to experience a taste of Chicago while in town! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews