We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for breakfast!”
Review of Drake Brothers

Drake Brothers
Reserve with OpenTable
Drake Brothers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #421 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Description: Rich oak wood and verdant greenery set the stage for this classic restaurant perched above the corner of the Magnificent Mile and the Gold Coast, with beautiful panoramic view of lake Michigan and Lake Shore Drive. Here guests enjoy outstanding service for breakfast and lunch 365 days a year.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family stayed at The Drake Hotel for six days, and we had the pleasure to start our day with breakfast here. We were given the opportunity to enjoy the ample breakfast buffet and have omelets fixed to our specification. My husband loved being able to have his coffee at his leisure while he waited on the rest of our family to join him for breakfast. The buffet had an array of dishes and they were all appetizing and presented nicely. The breakfast was included as part of the package we purchased for our stay. This was a great way to start our day before we toured Chicago.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    36
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Love The Drake Hotel, the Drake Brothers restaurant was good, ordered off the menu on the first day and had the buffet on the second. Food was good, but not anything 'special' but the service was outstanding.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a hotel.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We made a reservation and went there for lunch with 4 friends. Six of us total. We thought it would be more of a "trendy" fun restaurant, but it turned out it was the hotel restaurant which essentially seemed to be for taking care of guests for breakfast/lunch. They seemed to be resetting things after the breakfast crowd. Had we known it was the hotel "restaurant" we would have eaten at one of the many Italian places in the neighborhood. Food was fine although we only got about 20 fries with the 2 of us that got sandwiches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't get it right, over and over and over........”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stopped for breakfast the day I checked out of the Drake and was completely disappointed and had to send stuff back 3 times for a simple breakfast. They brought coffee to my table quickly - it was cold. I ordered eggs, poached well - the server asked "does that mean completely cooked" and I said yes - the eggs were completely runny when they brought them. Asked for Rye toast - they brought white toast. You would think, having screwed up 50% of the meal, that they would have compensated on some level and perhaps discounted the check or something - NOT, not even an apology from the manager or supervisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysticyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
704 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“North Michigan”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast place in the Drake Hotel. If you have a chance check out the beautiful lobby. We ordered off the menu. I would recommend that over the buffet. You will have more time to chat over a leisurely breakfast

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drake Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Drake Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing