We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homesick for Rays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homesick for Rays!”
Reviewed 8 November 2007

My sister an I stayed a fantastic whole week in Rays Annex, which is just across the street from the main building.
Our room (guestroom 2) was spacy and friendly with loving little details like painted wardrobe walls, fluffy and cosy beds and a booklet to guide your way around the neighbourhood.
I am not really sure what was best- the people, the place itself, 24h free Internet access, the community within the guests or the breakfast...I never felt that pampered in any other B&B! Ray and his staff is just an experience- especially when they equip themselves with aprons and the eagerness in their faces in the morning to give you a good start into the day!
The Annex building is the "2. part" of the B&B and a little more quiet and peaceful- most of the (exciting) things happen at the main building. The rooms ARE clean and you get fresh towels whenever you want them! Another fab idea are the free water bottles!!!
The neighbourhood is fun: there are lots of nice little shops and cafes around; North Damen Street is an upcoming place and the EL is in walking distance and it feels fine to walk home even when its in the middle of the night!
Try the Sushi Coast or Hot Chocolate Place on Damen Street!

The only thing you might be prepared for is the shock an evil scale might give you back home- the breakfast is just unavoidably extrodinary (and I cannot give my favourite pick- it was ALL jummy!)
No doubt: THE best place to stay! Really, really, really!

Thanks Ray, Vanessa, Jessica and Monica, whenever we get the desire to see Chicago again- we will be back!!!

  • Liked — Location, people, friendlyness, lacation, room, the fab breakfast...just the choice to make!
  • Disliked — What the scale said once back home!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyKBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
98
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I'm still dreaming of the Chocolate Raspberry pancakes I had for breakfast the day of our departure from Ray's. Our experience at this bed and breakfast was great! Not only was the breakfast phenomenal, but the staff was very helpful, the rooms were nice and spacious, the neighborhood had a lot of great and trendy restaurants / shops, and better yet Ray himself was so friendly. When I find myself in Chicago again....I will definitely make a point to stay at Ray's.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and the amount of weight I gained when returning from the trip.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NCNM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

The primary complaint I have is that the place was not clean enough. The staff, including Ray were very pleasant and eager to serve. The breakfast was excellent.

Housekeeping needs to really pay attention to details. Our socks were dirty on the bottoms from walking around in the room.

  • Liked — Breakfast was excellent
  • Disliked — Room and overall building was not clean enough
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgoretex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2007

My boyfriend and I recently went to Chicago for a wedding and for a quick tour of the city. I found Ray on trip advisor and it was a great choice. The staff are kind, friendly and pleasant. Ray and his staff are ready to provided you with maps, directions, nearest "el" stops and with local places to dine. The rooms are lovely and clean. The neighborhood is very clean, well lighted and quite...a very up and coming neighborhood. I do have to say that my boyfriend and I were very pleased with the exquisite breakfast they prepared, my favorite "Stuffed French Toast " that includes: cream cheese, almonds and blueberries. Defenetly recommend this place and if I ever go back to Chicago I would not hesitate to go back to Ray's B&B.

  • Liked — great staff always helpful
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Lots of extras at this rambling B&B in the Bucktown area, from the sauna downstairs to delicious breakfasts, cooked to order, by personable, down to earth staff. Although the entryway to the annex across the street is a bit dowdy, the Tucson Room was a delight to stay in. A great array of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance, and the El to downtown is around ten minutes' walk.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the utterly comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Having to leave the comfy bed
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Appetite, walking shoes, Chicago questions and smile.

Ray's B & B is located in an excellent location within walking distance to many types of resturants and pubs, plus cute little shops
for those looking for cute little shops. The El is a quick walk away and chances are Ray will drive you there himself. Ray's breakfast is VERY good, if you are a light eater, maybe ask for a "half-portion", or just eat the entire thing and save money on lunch. Get the french toast stuffed with bannanas and Nutella, wow.

We stayed in the Annex, across from the acutal B & B, and I'm glad we did. Each floor of the Annex bost two bedrooms and a huge living area which includes a full stocked kitchen, very nice. Rooms, baths, living and kitchen were tip-top clean.

You can't go wrong with Ray's while in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rideskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Wow what a place! My husband,myself and our grown up daughter stayed in the Da Vinci room for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Ray was a brilliant host and made our stay really good. What can I say about the breakfasts-they were just great with so much choice,and all freshly cooked while you waited. It was nice to be able to eat when you wanted so no panic.It was also great to get tea and coffee from the kitchen at any time of the day and also to be able to use crockery etc when we had a take-away delivered.There was also bottled water available when you wanted which was very useful .He was great with any info that you needed and there are plenty of places to eat near here and Ray has a book with restaurant ideas and take-aways etc. We had a car and there was no problem with plenty of free on street parking.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#87 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#1 of 23 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 23 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing