We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, location, experience, service quality all amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

No question the best place my husband and could have chosen.

After racking my brain to come up with something to put on the comment card to "improve the b&b" the best I can say is toilet paper. The toilet paper isn't charmin.

Everything feels so quality, retro, artsy, having plain t.p. Is all I can say that isn't amazing.

I wish Rays bucktown was a 'chain' and I could book in every city.

Parking free ($30-60 value)
Breakfast free -$15 or more per person for us easily ($30 value)

Per day savings $90 easily!

Everything you see on Rays website is 100% accurate.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malija81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Really enjoyed the place and loved the food and ambiance. Room was small - the bed was huge - about 1/2 the size of the room and the AC was loud and not that great but I was there during the July 2011 heat wave so it was hard to keep much cool. The place is so sweet and groovy with great art pieces and pottery and photographs that give it a lovely ambiance. The staff is very efficient and warm. The breakfasts were divine. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is such a usual place to find in the states. It is like a sofisticated hostal for adults. Housed in the owner's previous photography studio, it feels like being in a loft in Europe but with American hospitality. It is one of the most pleasantly designed places I have ever stayed. Our room was wonderful without being fancy, every detail considered for well being.
Ray is obviously a seasoned traveler and has set his own B & B up to well accommodate the curious and artistic globe trotter. The breakfast is unmatched by even the hippest of diners and cafes. One could stay at this place for days without ever wandering out into the greater Chicago, such is the abundance of detail and intrigue, not to leave out friendliness of Ray and his staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Exceptional service, accomadations, breakfast and neighborhood. And a great value.
Highly Recomended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunny134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My sister and I stayed at Ray's because it is close to my daughter's new apartment. We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was amazing! The free bottled water was a nice perk and much appreciated on warm days. We walked everywhere and the Bucktown neighborhood felt very safe. Ray's is close to many restaurants and to public transportation; the subway was an easy walk and there are bus stops nearby as well.
I will stay at Ray's whenever I visit Chicago!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fitzo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

It was perfect, the staff were friendly, very helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfast unbelievable, more than you can imagine for a B&B, it was a good way to start your day before exploring the city. It is nestled in a quiet neighborhood in Bucktown, within walking distance of public transit and many good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jul48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Ray's in the Chickadee room for 3 nights last week. It was wonderful! The staff was so helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us with a last minute request of bringing a 3rd guest. The breakfasts were awesome...fresh fruit and juice, pancakes, omelets, stuffed french toast...all fantastic! Ray's is on a quiet street and a short 5 minute walk to the Western stop on the Blue line, which takes you right into downtown in less than 10 minutes. We'll be back if we ever visit Chicago again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufdiver27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#55 of 191 in Chicago
271 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
1,007 reviews
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: £106 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing