We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
448 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Great service and breakfast”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this lovely B and B. We arrived at the Chicago O'hare airport and called Ray for directions. Ray was very precise and volunteered to pick us up at the Weston stop on the L line. It was an easy 20- minute ride from the airport on L and Ray had arrived. Then it was a less than 5- minute ride to the B and B. We had also walked from the B and B to the metro stop and it was an easy 10-15 minute walk.
Breakfast was great every morning. We had an omelette with ham and green peppers, bacon pancakes, stuffed toasts and roasted red potato casserole for the 3 mornings we were there. Besides the daily specials, there were ample pastries, fruits, cereals, yogurts and oatmeal to choose from. Coffee and tea were always available.
We had to move from "chickerdee"room to "room with a view" after staying for 2 nights. The B and B staff made it easy to make the transition. All we needed to do was to pack up and the staff would move our luggage for us.
Everything in both rooms worked. The chickerdee room has grab bars in the tub while the room with a view has a shower with no tub. Either design worked for us.
The entire staff was cheerful and helpful. Ray even helped us to order food to be delivered to the B and B.
The location of the B and B is in a residential neighborhood. There are coffee shops , restaurants and fast food joints in the neighborhood so it was not difficult to make dinner choices. It took about 20 minutes on the L line to get to downtown Chicago and about 20 minutes to go to O'hare airport.
I had enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this B and B to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
98
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a find in Bucktown! Ray's is billed at "not your parent's b & b" and it is definitely of a different order than your typical b& b. Breakfast is beyond copious, with a daily special and a menu to choose from. You can have a much as you want, but you can also determine your own portion (1 pancake, 2-egg omelet) rather than have a huge plate of food plunked in front of you. Breakfast is informal in terms of time as well - each room can write in its preferred time on a big white board with everyone's first name on it. As long as you show up somewhere between the earliest and the latest time stated, they're happy.
Our room "Room with a View" has a King bed, armoire, desk, and 2 comfortable arm chairs by the window, as well as good light to read by which is a priority for us and mostly lacking wherever we stay.
One thing some visitors may not like is that they do not clean the rooms every day. We were surprised by this, but found we didn't mind, and it made us feel more comfortable about what we left in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the_renaissance_man, Manager at Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We do not kid around with our portion sizes, you're right, and we can always attempt to reign it in if your not planning on waddling around the city all day! We are also more than happy to clean rooms as often as guests would like, but know that privacy is also nice to have - we are thinking of putting a notice on our check-in sheet to notify guests that may be used to another arrangement, thanks for pointing that out. We hope you had the chance to enjoy our neighborhood and city at large and look forward to having you back with us. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We all loved this place. I can't think of a bad thing to say. We stayed in the West room, which has bunkbeds (the top one is very high, maybe 7 1/2 ft.) There are also outlets in the bunks too - for your kids electronics! The queen bed was very comfortable and the sheets were so soft; had a great night sleep. Had no problems finding street parking. Enjoyed looking at the maps and sitting in the (tiny) backyard. Breakfast was ample and the menu interesting. Everyone aims to please! The "L" blue line is a 10 min walk, but the ride downtown is all underground. Too bad, was looking forward to seeing the city from the "L". Hope to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0re_vacati0ns_pls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

No. 1: this is a B&B, not a hotel. So it is like staying in someone's house. You do feel like you are staying in a distant relative's home. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and they both had attributes and disadvantages, but both were more than adequate. Ray's is very clean! Ray and all his staff are very welcoming and efficient. The entire place is a pop culture museum: very interesting stuff. The breakfast is the piece de resistance and is very much a source of pride for the whole staff. There aren't a whole lot of lodging choices between downtown and the suburbs and Ray's is located in a great neighborhood. Here is a short list of the positives and the less appealing aspects of staying at Ray's:

(Good stuff first)
Staying at Rays...
1. Provides a GREAT location
2. You will meet interesting people, including the owner, Ray, and his staff of multi-taking girls!
3. You will have a CLEAN, clean, clean room and bathroom.
4. You get to park for FREE!!!!
5. You will enjoy a delicious breakfast!

but, you might...
1. Hear activity around the house on the early side
2. Have to interact with other humans
3. Eat too much!
4. Not have front door drop off or a valet to carry your luggage
5. Not have luxury linens on the bed

Overall, Ray's is a great value, as well as an attraction/destination in itself. It seems as if a lot of other guests like Ray and his place, too...so book early!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great Location and a wonderful Team. They make you feel at home. Breakfast ist awesome. Bucktown is nice neighborghhood and you can reach the Loop in 15 min by Train. Best B&B we ever stayed at! Very relaxed also with children!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The room (ours was the Garden Level East Room) was perfect - nice and cool in the summer and the bathroom was amazing. The shower had FOUR showerheads - so awesome! The whole house is decorated in such a fanastic way, it was fun to walk around and look at everything. Make sure to pack a swimsuit cause there's even a sauna and steam room.

But beyond the rooms/house, the breakfast was BEYOND fantastic! Every morning we were treated to made-to-order breakfasts, fresh juice, fruit, tea/coffee.

It was an easy walk to the L and the neighborhood was lovely. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sefeffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I used to live in Chicago and would pass by Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast often. When planning a visit this year, I thought it would be fun to stay in a neighborhood more like where I used to live than downtown off of Michigan Avenue. Staying at Ray's was a great decision! My room was lovely and reminded me of my former apartment. Ray and the staff are so welcoming and the breakfast was delicious!!! I will definitely be back to visit Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Egret room. The room was a second floor room in the North Wing of the B&B. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windycityjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#82 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 23 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 23 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing