We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Chinese, mediocre Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fornetto Mei

Fornetto Mei
Reserve with OpenTable
Fornetto Mei is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,000 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue & Rush Street
Transit: Bus 151 or Chicago Avenue, Red Line, Subway: Chicago Ave & State St
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Chinese, mediocre Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I ate at this restaurant twice, once in Mei (the Chinese) and once in Fornetto (Italian). They are on different wings of the WhiteHall Hotel, but share the same kitchen (and hence the Italian restaurant also offers Chinese dumpling appetizers). The Chinese was very good, I thought. In particular, their Berkshire Pork dumplings were fantastic, as was General Tso's Chicken, which was soft and crisp, not overly battered. The pasta on the Italian side however was overcooked, and Bolognaise was fairly generic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The reason we chose this restaurant was that it was in our hotel (Whitehall, Chicago) and it was too cold to go out for breakfast. Happily, it was a good choice, for the quality of both food and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John565_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as I remember, but, still one of the best places for a quiet little dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have been to Fornetto Mei probably 10 times in the past 5 years. The sausage, goat cheese and grapes pizza is a Chicago Classic. There seemed to be a bit less protein in every dish, but, still rich flavors. The wine list seemed a bit lacking.

OK. What am I talking about. Of course I will go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcobett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Uneven hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Some of the things on the menu, like a pasta with ragu, are very good and well-priced. But other dishes are mediocre and expensive. And service can be prompt or very slow. If you're staying at the Whitehall, go to the Goddess and Grocery or L'Appetito for breakfast: don't pay $50 for breakfast for 2 here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pizza is excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

PIzza is very good, but the prices are also very high. Breakfast oatmeal is $10.00 for a very small bowl. Our total bill for breakfast was $33.00 with tip. Kind of high for a small hotel that is not even a 4 star!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fornetto Mei also viewed

 

Been to Fornetto Mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing