We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk through Chicago history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Graceland Cemetery

Graceland Cemetery
Ranked #63 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk through Chicago history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We took a walking tour of Graceland Cemetery with Joyce Walks Chicago, a tour group with just two guides. We had Paula as our guide. She was not only very knowledgeable about the cemetery and about the people buried there and their importance to the City of Chicago's history, but she seemed excited about the subject matter. She was a delight. We took a two-hour tour which went just a few minutes over. It is one of two different tours this group offers in the cemetery. There are enough famous people buried there that one 2-hour tour can't cover them all! While it was fun to see and hear about Marshall Field and Cyrus McCormick and other well-known names in Chicago, Paula had fascinating stories to share about less well-known people who were extremely important to Chicago's history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    41
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

An historic "rural" cemetery, now well within Chicago city limits, with many of the Chicago "greats" buried here under massive and unique monuments and mausoleums. A free map is available at the cemetery office, but I strongly recommend purchasing the $10 guidebook prepared by the Chicago Architecture Foundation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent if you are interested in Chicago History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I love visiting the cemetery which is a weird thing to admit. I don't know anyone buried there. However, I do know of many of the famous people buried there or the architects that designed the tombs. This cemetery is where Marshall Field, Ruth Page, Mies van de Rohe, Moholy-Nagy, the Palmers, Martin Ryerson, David Adler, Louis Sullivan, Daniel Burnham, Geoge Pullman, Roger Ebert, some McCormicks, Rockefellers, and Gettys are buried. There are amazing tombs (one of the Getty's was designed by Louis Sullivan), and sculptures. Think of this more as a sculpture and history tour than a cemetery tour. There is a great guide book that you can buy at the cemetery. No need to take a tour. The grounds are lovely and well kept up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A walk in Chicago history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our guide was 'Joyce Walks Chicago' and she was extremely knowledgeable about the 24 graveside stops we made on her 'part 2' 2 hour walk of the cemetery. She carried photographs of most of the individuals she spoke about and added interesting details to describe their life and times. Our group of 4 are interested in returning to Graceland for Joyce's Part 1 walk as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Graceland Cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were led on our wonderful, historic adventure into the Graceland Cemetery by our tour guide, Paula. She was so knowledgeable that we were extremely impressed with the historic facts and pictures she had to enlighten us about all the famous people residing there. This tour was my Mother's Day gift from my daughter and son-in-law who accompanied me. All of us enjoyed it thoroughly and would certainly consider future tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graceland Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Graceland Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing