We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oriental Theatre

Oriental Theatre
Ranked #56 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broadway In Chicago was created in July 2000 and over the past 17 years has grown to be one of the largest commercial touring homes in the country. A Nederlander Presentation, Broadway In Chicago lights up the Chicago Theater District entertaining up to 1.7 million people annually in five theatres. Broadway In Chicago presents a full range of entertainment, including musicals and plays, on the stages of five of the finest theatres in Chicago's Loop including The PrivateBank Theatre, Oriental Theatre, Cadillac Palace Theatre, and the Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University and just off the Magnificent Mile, the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
847 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went to the Oriental Theatre last night to see Motown the Musical. The theatre was very ornate and comfortable. Great place to see a show. We had seats in the dress circle which I thought were too far from the stage. If I went back, I would only sit in the orchestra.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    80
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enjoyed "Motown" musical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The theatre has a few stories to climb. Once you get to your section to view the play, the first thing I did was to look up at the ceiling. Somewhat gaudy and very ornate. All in all, it was exciting to be sitting there knowing that it came with a lot of history!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kgaribay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
362 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not being a huge Motown music fan, went to see it on recommendations of friends. The singing and dancing were wonderful and the historical prospective interesting. There was no down time..it went from scene to scene flawlessly and kept me entertained. What was disturbing, however, was the movie theater eating of some of the patrons ..the odor of fried chicken being eaten by the patron.in front of me was annoying as well as the sounds of popcorn bags being opened and enjoyed by another. Since when is this acceptable in a beautiful venue such as this? If one can't dine before or after the show then don't bring in food that smells or makes noise!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Motown the Musical_WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

How can you go wrong with Marvin Gaye, Diana Ross, Four Tops and a young Michael Jackson?? The music was great and the troupe was on fire!! Great audience participation. A sure winner!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StefandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater and amazing play!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Saw Motown the Musical at the Oriental Theater over the weekend and loved it. The theater itself is stunning with over the top ornate decor from a time gone by. We Loved it. Motown was the best play I have ever seen. With amazing performances and singing and dancing from the Motown era. The acoustics in the theater added to the enjoyment of the evening!!! Would highly recommend both Motown and the venue!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank psychorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing