We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Oriental Theatre

Oriental Theatre
Ranked #49 of 649 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broadway In Chicago was created in July 2000 and over the past 17 years has grown to be one of the largest commercial touring homes in the country. A Nederlander Presentation, Broadway In Chicago lights up the Chicago Theater District entertaining up to 1.7 million people annually in five theatres. Broadway In Chicago presents a full range of entertainment, including musicals and plays, on the stages of five of the finest theatres in Chicago's Loop including The PrivateBank Theatre, Oriental Theatre, Cadillac Palace Theatre, and the Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University and just off the Magnificent Mile, the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The theatre was beautiful!! Very ornate.
Did cost a bit to park the car in the parking garage. We saw the show Motown. Wow!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DortD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    84
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Theater”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Me and my fiance went to see Motown the musical and had a fantastic experience. We were a little nervous that we bought our tickets in the very last row (since they were significantly cheaper) but it turned out to not matter at all. Even though we were literally in the last row, we still had a great view of the show and the theater itself. Staff was excellent and helped us find our seats right away. The energy of the performers alongside the beautiful theater made it a truly special night.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara on the lake
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theatre is beautiful, Motown the Musical was fantastic!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I loved this theatre! It is so beautifully ornate! Pictures just don't do it justice. They sell snacks and drinks in the lobby (beer and wine included) and you can bring them into the show with you.
We saw Motown the Musical and it was fantastic! It covers the story of Motown from it's very beginnings and the music and singing was great! The audience were right into the story from the get-go, swaying, and cheering! The energy of the performers was infectious! See this show if you have the chance!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ABC it was easy as 123”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The theater is beautiful from an architectural point of view. Excellent size, not to big or small. We obviously saw the show Motown. Best show we ever saw, period. The music, the actors, simply incredible. Close your eyes and you will believe that you are hearing the actual artists live, from the Supremes to the Jackson Five, Stevie Wonder, or Marvin Gaye.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joeszw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Motown the Musical”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very enjoyable musical in a well-appointed theatre. I was able to get a good seat on the same day as the show which did not disappoint.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank afwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing