We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best theater experience in Chicago!”

Lookingglass Theatre Company
Ranked #58 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lookingglass Theatre Company seeks to redefine the limits of theatrical experience and to make theatre exhilarating, inspirational, and accessible to all.Through theatre, which invites, even demands, interaction with its audience, the company's goal is to fire the imagination with love, to celebrate the human capacity to taste and smell, weep and laugh, create and destroy, and wake up where we first fell --- changed, charged and empowered.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best theater experience in Chicago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just saw "Le Petit Prince" and must say that the experience was one of the best I ever experience. If you are looking for a true theatrical experience with great actors, small setting,, great views... this the place for you. I loved the size of the theater and how you feel part of the play. The use of sound, light and decor was perfect and the acting was very poignant.
I have been to larger production which were great but the fact that this theater is smaller gives you the impression that you are part of the play and I loved it. My Wife had brought some of her students as well and they LOVED it, so did my 14 yr old Daughter. I will certainly go back for another play as I was thoroughly impressed. Thank you!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PLGSLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    44
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lookingglass has it's own unique style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The theatre produces very physical performances, often using gymnastic and circus type maneuvers with minimal, innovative sets. Lookingglass is very visual in their productions, often adapting books. Great location for pre theatre dinner or touring.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great, intimate theater that does some really different and wonderfully done plays. We came on many occasions and have never left unhappy. Well done playhouse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Little Prince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Amazing show. Made us cry. Perfect night at the theater. The cast was phenomenal. They had us the minute the lights went down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful production of "The Little Prince"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

What a show! We were so impressed by the company, especially the young actress who played the prince. The show was full of absurd characters, flying, acrobatics, comedy, and music--a full palette of entertainment. The house--nearly full--was intimate and had an industrial vibe. There was a cash bar selling a variety of beverages, snacks, and souvenirs of the show and the theater. It was an enjoyable evening we will remember for a long time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss-elaine-eous89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lookingglass Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Lookingglass Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing