We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Chaotic”

Lookingglass Theatre Company
Ranked #58 of 635 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lookingglass Theatre Company seeks to redefine the limits of theatrical experience and to make theatre exhilarating, inspirational, and accessible to all.Through theatre, which invites, even demands, interaction with its audience, the company's goal is to fire the imagination with love, to celebrate the human capacity to taste and smell, weep and laugh, create and destroy, and wake up where we first fell --- changed, charged and empowered.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Little Chaotic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Went to see Rick Bayless's show. It was very expensive. The first problem was that I went to the Lookingglass Theatre only to find that the show had been changed to another venue. This required getting the car out of the parking garage and fighting traffic to get to the new location in time. It also cost $10 for the first parking garage. The second problem is that 4 out of 6 of us are vegetarians. This had been clearly articulated and indicated at the time of buying the tickets and again when being seated. We were served non-vegetarian food without realizing it until later (e.g. pork belly on toast and in the dark of the theatre was thought to be a marinated chewy mushroom). The servers were a bit confused because some of the food was vegetarian and some was not. The show itself was marvelous. The food mediocre, a real shocker given the sterling reputation of the celebrity chef.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineCheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    44
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best theater in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have never experienced disappointment with the Lookingglass performances! My favorite were Peter Pan and Brothers Karamazov. Great stage, so close to the theater goers.
Awesome experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yevgeniy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cascabel...a delightful evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a novel concept for dinner theatre. Food, wine, Cirque-like showtime, bathing beauties, acrobats, flamenco dancing, more food, more wine and Rick Bayless cooking and falling in love! What's not to like? It was fun, engaging, delicious, and a great evening out! Performance is at the Goodman Theatre. Don't be late!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cam8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
1 review
“Always Engaging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I teach theatre at Beloit College and we routinely attend plays at Lookingglass. The plays are consistently artistically and thematically engaging. Our groups leave the experience appreciating how theatre can entertain while provoking questions and conversation.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st Choice for Chicago Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Though I live several hours north of Chicago, I love going to the city, especially for the theatre. Lookingglass has become my first choice, due to their interesting choices of plays, and their outstanding productions. 'Metamorphosis', "Still Alice', and 'In the Garden' were all absolutely top-drawer. I'll certainly check the Lookingglass calendar when I'm in need of another dose of Chicago theatre.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank pggarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lookingglass Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Lookingglass Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing