We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MDA Chicago City Apartments
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My wife & 2 sons (16 & 13) recently spent a weekend at this location. Very nice accommodations. 2 bedrooms,2 baths,living room & kitchen in a very nice and conveniently located apartment building (60 Lake St.). Parking is located very nearby (20 E. Randolph St.) - just around the corner. Price for parking w/ voucher from MDA is less than 1/2 normal parking costs. For the price we paid, we had what amounted to a suite for much less than a 3 or 4 star hotel would charge + no tax. Very nice rooftop area (1st priortiy is given to permanent residents if they reserve it for any party, gathering, ect.) Great sitting area outside, w/ hot tub & nice inside area w/ pool table, t.v. ect. Very close to good dining, the River, Michigan Ave & the El trains(if you've never used the el before, learn how to get train tickets before putting money in self-serve kiosk - no change given). 7-11 & CVS drug stores very near. Full kitchen, so you can use it as much or as little as you want to. Next time we are in Chicago, we'll defintely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muncie_IN_JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

We spent 5 nights at MDA and were very pleased with the accommodation. Our apartment was on the 18th floor with some nice views. We had a two-bedroom, two-bathroom apartment and it had a fully equipped kitchen as well. The apartment was very spacious and modern and it had everything we needed from hairdryer to wireless internet connection. The location of MDA apartments is just perfect, there were a lot of places to eat nearby (mainly fastfood, though), all the bus and "L" stops were max. couple of blocks away. Also the tourist information was quite near. From the MDA, you can basically walk to any sights near the centre of Chicago (if you like walking).

There were a couple of things that could bother some travellers, but we didn't see these as major issues. Even though our windows weren't above the "L", I could still hear the sound of the trains and it was somewhat disturbing when trying to sleep. But use earplugs and you'll have no trouble getting sleep. There weren't any noises coming from the neighbouring apartments, but you could hear some noise from the hallway, because there was quite a big gap under the door. The other bedroom had fairly a poor mattress in the bed, but in the other room the bed was comfortable with a firm mattress, so it wasn't really a problem for us.

This accommodation is way better than a hotel room, there is a lot of space, big bathrooms, quite modern interior, big kitchen and so on. MDA doesn't offer breakfast or other usual hotel amenities but we didn't need any of them, we ate some cereals in the morning and then headed to a cafe to grab a coffee and something delicious to eat before exploring the city. We paid about 130 euros per night (booked through ebookers), and there were very few hotel rooms (1-bedroom) available at the time of booking at the same price. I do recommend MDA to anyone going to Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We loved the MDA CITY APARTMENTS, on the corner of Lake and Wabash, where the El train rounds a corner at the northwest side of the building. This means that if you’re in 905 or other rooms ending in a 5 facing west, you’ll probably hear the squealing of brakes consistently until about 1am. Yes, even five floors above the level of the train, you can hear the noise because the surrounding buildings amplify the sound. My husband, who is normally a deep sleeper, kept being awakened by the noise, even with four margaritas in his system. Since the building to the west is only about 10 stories tall, however, the noise may not be as noticeable on the upper floors. The location of the building, however, is excellent - about two blocks north of Millennium Park, at a fraction of the price of the hotels in this area. If you don’t plan to use the kitchen, you’ve got many restaurants and fast-food joints within a couple of blocks. And of course, the El train is easily accessible nearby, as are cabs and buses on Michigan Ave. on the east side of the block. There is no driveway or porter, however. You have hope for some curbside space along Lake to unload your luggage, and the limited parking is only available for an extra fee with advance notice. There is a public parking garage right across the street, but I don’t know anything about their rates.

As for the rooms themselves, this is one instance where they actually look better in person than in the photos. (The websites only show photos of the public areas, which are very chic, but I asked for photos of the rooms to be sent to me as well from the actual booking company, which is Leading Apartments. LeadingApartments.com or [--]. ) Apartment 905 is a (665 sq foot) floor plan, which seems about as much overall square footage as a king sized suite in hotels, but with a smaller bedroom to accommodate a kitchen and living room as well as an entry and bathroom. The decor is hip and modern but warm (without the W Hotel’s gloominess), with gorgeous zebrawood-looking floors, a vessel sink and subway tiles in the bathroom with an oval soaking tub (no jets), modern but comfy (two words not usually used together) leather furniture, suede bedcovers and pillow shams, flat-panel televisions televisions (a 30” for the living room and one smaller one for the bedroom), and dark wood used throughout.

You get most of the expected hotel amenities, such as an iron and ironing board, Neutrogena shampoo & conditioner and french milled soap, a coffee maker and a travel pack of coffee, 300-thread count sheets, high-speed internet access (though it’s not wireless; you have to use a provided ethernet cable and call a number with a code to register your computer for access), but missing are little things like tissue paper and in some rooms, a hairdryer. The phone hookup is not near the desk provided, but the phone itself if wireless, so it can be used throughout the apartment. The desk is sleek and modern (no drawers), and the chair is a real home-office type chair with a high back and wheels.

The apartment has a real kitchen with a dishwasher, full-sized fridge / freezer w/icemaker, electric range with stove and oven, and a full-sized microwave and sink, toaster, paper towels, a standard set of nonstick cookware with lids, a full set of real knives, silverware and dinnerware for four, a baking pyrex dish as well as a pyrex lidded casserole, plus cooking utensils, kitchen towels and potholders, but no dishwashing soap or sponges, cooking oil, or salt & pepper. A White Hen convenience store is located 3 blocks west on Lake where you can buy groceries. The granite-topped kitchen island doubles as the dining table, which saves on space. The living room has more than a usual hotel suite’s seating area with a full-size leather sofa, two comfy leather lounge chairs and a real coffee table and side table with table and floor lamps, and a modern rug. You could entertain here if you wanted to. The washer and dryer are stacked and hold smaller loads of laundry, but there is no detergent provided. The bedroom is small, but has a large closet and a full-sized dresser. The sliding loft-like door doesn’t fully shut out the noise from the living room / kitchen since it doesn’t lie flush against the wall when closed, but it does block out some light and sound.

We booked through Leading Apartments, which books MDA City Apts. at a lower rate than the online travel sites. For example, all rooms go for for $220 at Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, and Travelocity, but the smallest room can be booked for $165 through Leading Apartments, which is whom the online agencies have to book through anyway. Besides, if you book through Leading Apartments, you can choose your apartment floor plan amongst the available ones, and you can pay a little more for a bigger floor plan if you want one, while the online travel sites will simply charge you for the biggest floor plan, book you for the smallest (“studio”), and then you get whatever is actually available when you check in. The online travel sites also do not mention parking, which is only available by reservation for an additional fee. You will have to fax an actual lease and credit card authorization to the reservations office, but it was worth this extra step for us. The best thing is that, unlike the most other short-term apartment rentals available online (like through VRBO), the MDA City apartments don’t require a security deposit before you check in. The concession you make is to remove all trash from your apartment when you checkout and leave the apartment in “good and clean” condition. You also get concierge service, a luggage hold, and a stylin’ lobby to boot. The rooftop clubhouse / terrace was not yet open when we visited. For floor plans, go to the brochure at MDACityApartments.com.

Stayed: May 2006
9  Thank ramblinru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

With two teenage boys, we were looking for an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation. We kept calling this trip "our adventure" since we simply didn't know what to expect. And it turned out to be very impressive!

Our 2-bedroom, 2-bath unit was clean, modern and spacious! We were located on the opposite side of the "L", so the noise volume was minimal. The boys also enjoyed the rooftop spa and lawn area. And I valued the in-room washer/dryer!

The apartments are located a block from Michigan Avenue, so we had easy access to the museums and local restaurants. It is also easy walking distance to the trains.

Although the kids enjoyed 'donuts' for breakfast (there's one on almost every corner), my husband and I preferred the Corner Bakery for their scrambled egg plates.

The front desk was extremely helpful -- and the management company (I booked directly with them).

My only recommendation would be installing drapes in the bedrooms since the blinds did not block out the light (day/night).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadie-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

I selected this place, because the price was reasonable and the location supurb.

I couldn't belive my eyes when I walked into the door! It was a McMansion of a room! The back wall of sliding glass doors let in lots of light. The floors were exotic bamboo. The place was spotlessly clean. And..... It was almost as large as my house! We entered, and a full sized kitchen, complete with refrig, stove, microwave and dishwasher were to the right. Facing us was a table, fully set with linen napkins for four people. The livingroom, with floor to ceiling TV cabinet and two full sized couches filled out the front room. The bedroom area was off behind a half-wall. The queen bed was covered with a down duvet, and one faced the dresser which had a small bedside remote controlled TV for bed-time viewing. There was also a study area, at which desk we immediately installed our laptop for Internet communications.

There was not just one but TWO full sized bathrooms, so my husband and I didn't perform the normal early morning jousting for the first shower-time. THEN, we opened a door and discovered the washer and dryer combo! Our big regret was that we were staying for only two nights and not two weeks!

The location could not have been more convenient. It was within walking distance of Millenium Park - the Bean, the Geery amphitheater and the Chicago Art Museum. The train station to the airport was only 4 blocks away... an easy walk. The elevated was only a block away. Restaurants galore. There was even a small grocery store just a block away.

Visitors need to realize that this IS an apartment building, so there is no room service. However, each bathroom came with an Everest stack of towels and washcloths and so many little bottles of shampoo that I felt we could easily have stayed a week and still not run out. There is a reception desk with ever cheerful and friendly staff on hand 24 hours a day - so if you need anything you need only ask. They also were more than helpful with information about the area and full of recommendations.

The best place ever we have stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank numbercruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed here over the last few days of the year of 2007. This is a great property, period. We stayed in a different kind of room this time...it was on the 2nd floor and called a live/work room. It is a large studio with the Queen bed right in the living room area. This still has all the amenities but it's much more spacious than the standard studio and feels larger than the one bedroom apartments. When we arrived, we were given the standard welcome packet, PLUS...the surprise of a set of earplugs and an eyemask. I guess some of the complaints about the noise/light situation have been reviewed by management of this property. On the 2nd floor, I expected to be right on the tracks for the EL, but in #209 the view is a parking ramp and an empty lot. No noise that bothered us. We could hear the trains but it was quieter than the 12th story room we have had several times. We still agree this is a great location and a nice urban destination.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

A friend and I stayed at the MDA for a long weekend. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment was clean and bright. The location was fantastic and there was a lovely diner 2 doors down which served a great breakfast for a reasonable price. My only complaint was the "EL" runs all day long and it past outside of the bedroom windows. Even though we were on the 19th floor sleep was difficult. I would recommend staying here if noise at night doesn't keep you awake or if you're able to use the sleep mask and ear plugs that the management kindly leaves on your bed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Philmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDA Chicago City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDA Chicago City Apartments

Address: 63 East Lake Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MDA Chicago City Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your MDA Chicago City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mda Chicago City Apartments Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing