We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wanted it to be better than it was - location is awesome though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
all over
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wanted it to be better than it was - location is awesome though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel the year that it opened and LOVED it. I recently returned and was less than impressed. It is thoroughly worn - with makeup stains on the robes, worn through rugs, a work out facility that is dirty and has seen better days.

The location is well worth the stay - but I just wanted this hotel to be better than it was. The final straw was that the valet's were too busy talking to each other to hail me a cab in rush hour traffic ... arrgh!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eat_drink_and_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    817
    206
    82
    50
See reviews for
447
1,215
176
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had an amazing time in Chicago and were so glad we stayed at the James. Perfect location, clean, quiet, efficient, friendly. We left some expensive clothes in the closet and didn't realize it until we got back to Texas. We called right away, they had our clothes set aside, and sent them to us FedEx the next day! They gave us an upgrade to a Junior suite which was really nice. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

A very special hotel with excellent facilities in a great location. It has a small but stylish reception and bar area and an excellent restaurant. And the service is outstanding – friendly but unobtrusive. They gave me a room at 10am with no complaint or surcharge. WiFi is free.

However, my designer open-plan room had some quirks: a built-in hill (the bathroom floor was an inch higher than the bedroom); a noisy A/C (77dB, noisier than the cabin of a jetliner); no plug for the basin (makes washing smalls tricky); strange dimmer switches, some of which don't seem to do anything; a low-set clothes hanging rail such that trousers could not hang free; no chair or desk (instead there is a round table and a comfy, but fixed bench); large TV that is stuck on wide-screen so that everyone has Pinocchio noses; bed base with sharp corners that are easy to bump into.
Not sure I expected that for USD 400+.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davcosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and got upgraded to a suite overlooking Magnificent Mile. The suite was very luxurious and we didn't want to leave. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend and stay here again. Amazing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosterajko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I can't make enough positive comments about the James Hotel. It's an upscale hotel in a great location. The rooms were comfortable and very clean.

But there's more. This hotel separates itself from the others in two ways:

1. They don't 'nickel and dime you' to death. Everything's included in the price, even the internet.

2. The staff is incredibly personable. While the hotel is upscale, it's not snooty. Everyone is so nice. All the staff talks to you. I'm not one who stays at the Ritz because they have great service, but lack personality. The James isn't like that. They combine quality with amazing, personable service.

Stay at this hotel. And tell the front desk staff that Ken sent you... ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The James is situated in a great location; just blocks North of the Chicago River and West of Lake Michigan and two blocks from the famous Miracle Mile shopping district. The room is nice, clean and they go the extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable. The James provides free bicycles to explore the area. If you aren't comfortable and experienced riding in traffic, however, skip the bike, or it might be the last bike ride you take. They are friendly people, but traffic can be heavy and fast-moving.
While not huge, the room was certainly is big enough for my solo stay. While all the other hotels in the area were going for $250/night, I was able to get a $170 (+taxes) rate. Quite a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EtotheZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We got a deal on this hotel from one of the travel sites and decided to try it out. The hotel staff were so down to earth wonderful and definitely accomodating. They would call taxis for us when needed. They gave us tips on where to eat. They even had necessities when we forgot to pack certain things. The rooms were very chic. King size beds w/ a flat screen tv, mini bar, which was extra, chaise lounge, couch, modern size bathroom. I felt very upper class without having to pay the heafty price. The best part was that is was right by the magnificent mile. I can't say enough wonderful things about the staff. They held our luggage and our leftover pizza the day of checkout because we weren't leaving until the evening and wanted to shop a little more. There was no indoor pool, but they did have a spa and gym, which we didn't have time to use cause we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeycomb2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing