We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the James in March 2012 for a weekend. The hotel was hard to find using GPS, but once there, it was great. The lobby is a little cramped, but still beautiful. The rooms are designed with a minimalistic approach, but the bed is extremely comfortable. The bathroom was good as well. We stayed in a suite. The location of the James is great close to Michigan Avenue. David Burke's steakhouse attached to hotel is also phenomenal. The only downside is that both hotel and restaurant were pricey.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,913
    820
    206
    83
    50
See reviews for
447
1,218
177
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The James has the perfect combination of location and service. Great staff, clean and it has the “James” signature that always has been offering. Rooms are fantastic, great bedding, turnover service is a nice touch, and toiletries from “Intelligent Nutrients” are awesome... daily showers were a perfect wake up!!! Breakfast was delicious with great service. Front desk service and concierge amazing great...There was a negative minor thing, related to the paint maintenance in some common areas of the building.... really minor thing... but they need to be addressed in order , for the management to keep up the standard of this hotel within the competitive market in the “Windy City”. Always will be my first option to stay in Chicago. Thank you to The James’ team.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great location, one block from magnificent mile and within walking distace of fabulous restaurants. Exceedingly friendly staff and service. Comfortable beds but bathroom layout with sliding door is a bit odd. Overall, would recommend hotel to anyone visiting the windy city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torino006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The James Hotel in Chicago was wonderful. It is a rather pricy hotel but you can find some great packages on their website. The doormen are friendly and attentitive. The hotel staff is warm and accommodating and the hotel is quiet. We did have a bit of miscommunication with the front desk regarding some changes but they more than made up for the inconvience. Our only complaint was the night we stayed there was a jazz musician playing out on the street until about 11:00 and the garbage truck was on the street bright and early at 7:00. The recent remodel was beautiful. The next time we're in Chicago we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asteinmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at The James recently and were very disappointed, given other excellent reviews of this property. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the room we were given was very basic and unappealing, on a low floor, and the hallways and elevators had damaged walls and filthy carpets. The noise from street traffic below made it difficult to sleep. The gym, located in the basement, was without windows and overcrowded with equipment. The highlight of our stay was dinner at David Burke's, which was excellent, along with the service. As far as choices for boutique hotels in Chicago, there are much better options with beautiful architecture, interior design, good gym and/or spa facilities, swimming pool, and other amenities, such as Kimpton hotels and Radisson Blu Aqua.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed here before and wrote a glowing review then - my 2nd review confirms that one. From the moment we arrived (9 am on day of check in, and they let us check in - to an upgraded suite no less!), we were treated like royalty. This is a smaller boutique hotel, and clients receive personalized service. There are little things in the room like complimentary filtered water, turndown service with a goody at night, complimentary wifi. The gym is a great facility, and I had a massage at the spa as a result of the 20% off coupon I received at check in. Absolutely no complaints and quite honestly, I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a high floor on an end so I didn't have to share too many walls with neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the James over March break and had a fantastic stay. Excellent staff, excellent room and excellent concierge. We'd definitely stay there againl

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#50 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing