We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the James this past weekend and had a great time. It is right in the middle of everything and we were able to walk or take the train to our destinations. The staff were very nice and housekeeping was terrific. We were upgraded to a king suite and it was a big as some apts! I read other reviews about the air conditioner and I have to agree that it does tend to blow on you when you are asleep, but the pluses certainly out weight this minor annoyance. Will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Barb B, Thank you for writing about your experience at The James Chicago! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and our prime location, but most of all, thank you for your wonderful compliments of our staff. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,910
    817
    206
    83
    50
See reviews for
447
1,216
177
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Everything you need is just steps away from your doorstep. Deep-dish pizzas are right around the corner and a grocery store right across the hotel are convenient food options nearby. The hotel itself is a relaxing sanctuary in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoTravelHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear SoTravelHappy, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago and were able to relax in our comfortable rooms here at The James. We hope that you will take advantage of our convenient location the next time your travel plans bring you back to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We're so glad we chose to stay at The James. The service was exceptional. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded to a suite because our room was not ready when we arrived. The suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the decor was tasteful and modern. We were steps away from the shopping on Michigan Avenue. When we go back to Chicago, we will definitely choose to stay at The James again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Bob D, We are glad that you spent some time with us at The James Chicago and enjoyed an exceptional experience with our comfortable suites and excellent location near Michigan Avenue. Thank you for your wonderful compliments, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel was one of our best choice ever ! A friend had highly recommended it and we are recommending it if you go to Chicago. The hotel was great, the rooms were perfect, I have never slept as well in a hotel bed and the housekeeping was very good we had a Loft suite on the 17th floor. The staff was so helpfull all week and from the doorman to front desk to concierge to other staff in the hotel everybody works with a smile and will talk to us during our stay. The location of the hotel makes it also a good reason to choose this hotel since it is a block away from the Magnificient Mile and you will find a convenient store Tradder Joe accross the street along with many fine restaurants that are at walking distance. We found the hotel restaurant a little expensive for breakfast even though it was delicious. You can get a good latté at starbucks accross the street or the litttle restaurant even closer to the hotel. We will return to this hotel the next time we go to Chicago.

Room Tip: We had read a lot of comments on tripadvisor about the noise and made sure we had a room located in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bibifree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Bibifree, We are delighted to hear that your stay with us at The James Chicago was one of your best choices! We are glad to see that you enjoyed our spacious Loft Suite and our great staff. Glad to hear that you will be staying with us the next time you visit Chicago; we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torino
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was our last hotel of our vacation and after the terrible experience in New York.... This hotel is in good position, close to Michigan Avenue, the front desk have been very helpful and friendly.
Our room was very nice, very clean, and we felt really spoiled in this place...
we were interested in spending one night listening to blues music but we didn't find a place where we could go with our son who was underage.. we were suggested from the front desk staff the Kingston Mines with some discount ticket, and instruction to reach the place... and we enjoyed very much the evening!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear ladyoscar, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We are glad to see that after your New York experience you enjoyed all that our city has to offer. We appreciate your great compliments our helpful staff and hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed at in a long time! The staff were extremely accommodating and considerate; someone was always offering us water, coffee, or information, and always with a smile. The rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable. And the location was perfect, we could walk everywhere. The bar and restaurant are expensive, so we didn't eat there but it looked good and there were people eating there much of the time. I would, and already have, recommended this hotel to others; I will definitely stay there whenever I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annonymous714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Annonymous714, Thank you for your wonderful review of The James Chicago! We are truly grateful for your kind compliments of our rooms, location, and especially our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was just like any other hotel to me. There was nothing fancy about it. The room was clean upon check in and we had everything we needed in the room. The daily housekeeping was just okay; they kind of just threw the bed cover over the top of the bed everyday (to make it appear neat) but the sheets were still a mess underneath. Every night they come into your room and turn down the bed and leave you a little treat. That was a nice touch. I guess the only complaint I had was that for a hotel that big that they only had two tiny elevators. That seemed to be everyone's complaint that stepped into the elevator. The location was great, within walking distance to a lot of things. Another nice things is that they will hold your luggage for you if you get there before check in. I think for the price I paid for this hotel it was worth the money. Nothing fancy, but great location!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIZZLE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear WIZZLE12, Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Chicago. I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at The James Chicago, and hope that next time, we can make your stay outstanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing