We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It is in the centre of things, just a street away from Michigan avenue. The staff is very helpful and goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable. The doormen are excellent at hailing cabs and in general helping you with stuff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bhavin_Jankharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Bhavin_Jankharia,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that your experience with us was a great one, thanks to our location and the excellent service provided by our doormen. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that we will welcome you back the next time your travel plans return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,332)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 3,333 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We received a room upgrade for our anniversary get away. Our room was very clean and had a lot of helpful amenities. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. The wifi worked great and our room had 2 flat screen TV's. We would definitely recommend the James and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndrewsPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear AndrewPT,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are truly honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us and glad that you had a great experience, thanks to our staff. Most of all, I am humbled by your recommendation and to hear that your first stay with us will not be your last. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was clean/stylish. The food was good but not excellent. The room was as advertised and set up very nice. It was located on the 17th floor. There was banging on the wall and ceiling into the late evening and started again in the am, I'm assuming from the elevators, it was horrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Mark B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us candid feedback about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. Although you enjoyed some aspects of our property, I am very disappointed to hear about your disappointment due to the noise in your room. We are always happy to move you to a more suitable room if you have any issues, and I am sorry that this was not your experience as it is our goal to wow all of our guests. I very much hope we can re-coup your confidence in us and would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you further offline at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Location: unbeatable location; within walking distance to major shopping area and nice restaurants nearby
Services: the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful
Room condition: Good lighting, spacious room in good condition

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Joyce L,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored by your compliments of us, and to hear that you loved your stay thanks to our convenient location and especially our friendly staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I travel to Chicago for business at least once a month and always stay at The James if there is availability. AND I have done this for the past 5 years! The staff is amazing and have become my "family" in Chicago. From the front drive to front desk to housekeeping to room service, they are particularly aware of my interests and needs as I return trip-to-trip. I also really enjoy the newly redecorated lounge/bar area. It is much more "female-traveler friendly" to enjoy a drink and dinner. The location is also very conveniently located between activities on Michigan, Rush, State, etc. You will not be disappointed if you choose The James for your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get away from street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslee U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Leslee U,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I would like to use this opportunity to thank you for your years of continued loyalty to us; we are honored to be your first choice of hotel in Chicago and especially that you feel at home while with us. I also appreciate your feedback on our newly expanded lobby bar, and glad that you like the update. On behalf of al of us at The James, we are honored to be a continued part of your travels and look forward to welcoming you back home again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great location in River North area. Parking available right across the street through SpotHero.com ($24). Checkin was friendly and efficient. The art installation in the lobby was intriguing. The room was large with modern furniture and art from local artists. The desk was awkward making for a difficult work space.The bed was comfortable. A pillow menu is offered. We were on the 8th floor. I was not bothered by street noise. The windows opened (a huge plus in my book). The bathroom was small but functional. The doormen were helpful and greeted us by name. The hotel offers a free car service for local trips which we used twice. The driver was pleasant and courteous. There is a bar and restaurant in the lobby. I was not disappointed and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear klenc,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, thanks to the superb service provided by our entire team. I am glad you appreciated the art we have throughout the hotel, and very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have stayed in the James twice now and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
The location is great and the rooms and beds are incredibly comfortable. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natasadevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear natasadevic,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, thanks to our comfortable beds and especially our friendly team. Most of all, I am honored that after your second visit, you will continue to recommend us and appreciate your loyalty. Thank you again for writing and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,659 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £132 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing