We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The James The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

From the moment the reservation was made through check-in and check-out to using the complimentary car to take us to the rr station, one couldn't ask for anything more.Service and customer satisfaction seem to be the hallmarks of The James. Escellent location especially if you have no car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear you had a great experience with us, particularly from enjoying our complimentary house car service. I am truly honored by your compliments of our service, as it our aim to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. Thank you again for writing and I look forward to welcoming you back to The James soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,777 - 1,783 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I grabbed a cab to the airport after staying at the hotel for a couple days for an event, and inadvertently left my computer on a table in the ballroom. Subconscious attempt to escape from work and all that little beast represents but, in the end, I needed to get it back quickly and securely. Mariza, working at the front desk, was kind enough to locate it for me (sitting right where I left it, hours later), and made arrangement to get it to the right people in the hotel to get it back to me. That turned out to be the concierge, Laurelin, who communicated with me at every step to arrange to ship it where I needed it to go, and make sure it got back to me when I needed it. Thanks to them both, and to the St. James for a top to bottom A-1 experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusuSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear SusuSha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your story from your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad that our staff was able to promptly assist with your missing laptop and made an impression with their exemplary service while doing so. I appreciate your compliments of us, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We checked in and the hotel was nice. The room seemed nice until we started to unpack. There is only one drawer in the room, located underneath the mini-bar. When we opened it, the lone drawer was filled with used tissues, old pizza boxes, empty water bottles with a dark brown residue, reminiscent of tobacco spit, as well as other "garbage." I called downstairs and was told "sorry". So we assumed it would be cleaned the following morning since there was no offer to clean it that night. Came back to the room the following afternoon, and the garbage was still there. After the second call to the front desk, where I offered to keep the drawer open so that it couldn't be missed, was the garbage finally cleared. We come to Chicago several times a year for business. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Maria T,

I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay. We pride ourselves on our high standard of cleanliness and I am sorry for this unfortunate oversight. This does not reflect our attention to detail and I have followed up with our housekeeping department to rectify this issue. I am disappointed that this affected your stay to such a degree and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline. I can be reached at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The james has maintained its quality and the location can't be beat. An added plus it is located across fro Eataly, Chicago's newest go to place. It's also located one block from Michigan Avenue and the Miracle Mile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StanLee0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear StanLee0413,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are delighted to have you back again and glad that you enjoyed your return visit as much as the first. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I had a truly fabulous experience at the James. The hotel is in the perfect location; super walkable to all the great shops and museums downtown, and there's a Trader Joe's right across the street. The hotel itself has a very hip, modern boutique vibe and the beds are ridiculously cozy. What impressed me most about this place (aside from the hyper-stocked mini bar) was how friendly and helpful the staff were. I'd come back in a heart beat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank HeyJCJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear HeyJCJC,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor to hear your compliments about our team's hospitality, and that it was their efforts that made your stay a great one. Thank you again for writing, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is like. 2/3 star Europe hotel. So expensive for a creepy small room. Walls are paper thin- could hear a man vomiting next to us the whole night! I usually love hanging out in Chicago hotel rooms- my sister, mom, and I could not wait to leave. The bathroom door was a loud, heavy, creaking sliding door! Limits privacy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Katherine J,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry to hear about your negative experience while with us; the stay you described is simply not up to our high standards and I am truly sorry that we missed your expectations, and our own. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline to rectify this negative experience; I can be reached at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I look forward to speaking with you soon and regaining your confidence in us.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It is in the centre of things, just a street away from Michigan avenue. The staff is very helpful and goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable. The doormen are excellent at hailing cabs and in general helping you with stuff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bhavin_Jankharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Bhavin_Jankharia,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that your experience with us was a great one, thanks to our location and the excellent service provided by our doormen. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that we will welcome you back the next time your travel plans return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,658 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £134 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing