We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt special at the James”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We felt special at the James”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at the James this fall and were well rewarded. They ugraded us to a large, funky suite which definitely started us off on the right foot. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated and close to everything - in fact, we rarely took a taxi and chose instead to walk all over Chicago. Their gym is amazing (and I'm a tough customer) and the beds are super comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Wanderlust A,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our well-supplied gym, upgraded suite, and especially that our friendly team made your experience memorable. Thank you for taking the time to write and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,974
    844
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
469
1,250
181
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I spent 3 nights here in Sept 2013. The check-in service was brilliant. My room was lovely and the bed ever so comfortable - the pillows were not those terrible ones where you head sinks in!

I went to the spa for a massage the one day. The lady at the front desk of the spa was very polite, but the actual therapist I found to be a bit brash, rude and not very friendly. The spa itself though wasn't what I expected. I thought it would emulate the rest of the hotel so I was quite disappointed.

The location is brilliant and right off Michigan Ave - so shopping and coming back to the hotel was not a problem when walking. It is walking distance from the architecture cruises, Art museums and other tourist spots.

The staff were wonderful and accommodating.

I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Chevara N,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of us, and especially that our comfortable beds and friendly team made your visit a great one. I would like to apologize for the experience with the spa; special attention to customer service is expected throughout all of our outlets, and I am sorry that the level of service did not meet our high standards. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and glad that this did not detract from an overall pleasant stay. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Grat service and staff! Delivered cupcakes for my husband's birthday after I briefly mentioned it when making the reservation. Great atmosphere - would definitely stay here again! Very pleased with our experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Amy T,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with us, thanks to the level of service provided by our team. It is an honor that you chose to celebrate your husband's birthday with us, and I look forward to welcoming you both back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel over marathon weekend when there were no other choices. I actually booked it on hotwire and got a great rate. The place is amazing. Room was one of the best Ive ever stayed in. Great bathroom. This place is a great size and in a modern classic building. Location is fine - on the River and pretty central - though a little uninspiring as a neighborhood but the James makes up for it in every other way. Stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsjstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Jsjstravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I am truly delighted that even after several months since your stay, you continue to be impressed by the room and our entire hotel. We are honored by your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The James provides everything you should expect from a hotel....friendly, unpretentious and responsive staff combined with nice rooms, great location, wonderful amenities and good food! The rooms are modern and comfortable with great products

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Jeffrey B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear your compliments of our amenities, convenient location and comfortable rooms. Most of all, I am proud of the service provided by our friendly team and that they assisted in making your experience a great one. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is an older hotel with a nice style. The rooms rooms have both baseboard heat as well as thermostats so it is very difficult to regulate temperature. I could not sleep because the room gets warmer at night and the air is extremely dry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Samantha B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry to hear that you experienced trouble regulating the temperature in your room and were uncomfortable during your stay. This is certainly not the experience we wish for any of our guests to have, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. This is not our expectation and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here over a business conference that was also located on the property. I was very pleased with this hotel. It's not quite 5 star, but is fairly close. The hotel is spectacularly clean and well-maintained and everything is modern and trendy.

I highly recommend this hotel, it is my favorite place that I have stayed in downtown Chicago

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dustinthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear dustinthill,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay and conference with us, thanks to our convenient location and rooms. Most of all, it is truly an honor to be considered as your favorite hotel in Chicago after your visit and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing