We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #45 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

the rooms were nice. different layout which is liked. the overall environment of the hotel was great. food was good. staff were very kind and had lots of options around the hotel for food and for a great walk at night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Ali Z,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our comfortable rooms, excellent dining options, and most of all the service provided by our entire team. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 3,355 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've stayed at both the James Chciago and the James Soho (New York), never have I been disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are modern, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. I've only had the pleasure of staying for business from time to time, but when I get the chance to stay in Chicago for pleasure, the James will definitely be my choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Courtney S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our convenient location and friendly team. Most of all, we are humbled by your loyalty to The James and glad you had as great of an experience here as you did in New York. We are honored to hear you will visit again, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In desperate need of a getaway, my partner and I went to Chicago and stayed at the James. We had a quiet deluxe kingsized room and were very comfortable. The staff were fabulous, attentive, friendly, eager to help. The car-service to our dinner engagement was an unlooked for very pleasant surprise. The food at David Burke's was delicious and full of healthy options. I found the gym well-equipped, the hotel location very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dagni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Dagni B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our complimentary car service, David Burke's Primehouse, and most of all, the friendly service provided by our entire team. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome both you and your partner back the next time you decide on a getaway in Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A friend recommended that we stay at the James for a milestone birthday celebration and I'm so glad she did. We were coming in from New York and had stayed at the Intercontinental before, as well as a couple other hotels in the area. They were all fine, but from now on, it's The James. The rates are reasonable, the beds were so incredibly comfortable, I'm going to find out who makes them and buy one for home. Despite being a pretty busy weekend, from the looks of the lobby, we barely heard anyone else while we were in our room. I had been a little wary about taking a room so close to the elevator, but aside from the very occasional "ding" we heard nothing. This place is solid.

The staff, from the doormen, to the desk staff, to the cleaning people, were all extremely helpful and kind. One of the staffers, Sanisha, found out it was my birthday and had a bottle of champagne sent up. I am a customer for life now and will send all my friends here.

The location is pretty sweet too. Right around the corner from Eataly, across the street from Trader Joe's, and within spitting distance of Marshall's in case you run out of underwear and don't want to buy skivvies at Burberry's, which is also very close, if that's your thang.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the closer to the sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_in_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Sunny_in_BK,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us and we are honored that you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. Thank you for your generous compliments of our entire team, and especially that their efforts have made you a customer for life. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit on Trip Advisor and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel, and it was a great experience. The staff there go out of your way to make you feel at home, and the facility is top notch! Our room was very clean and the beds were awesome, and being 1 block off Michigan Avenue was so handy. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear fivebell,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear your compliments of our team; I am proud that they made you feel at home throughout your visit. Most of all, we are delighted that you are a returning guest and plan to visit again. Your loyalty is truly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was very pleasant, the room was perfectly clean, comfortable and the insonorisation was very good! The bed was particularly great and comfortable. The stay was awesome, in all his sides. Txs

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stéphane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Stephane M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you felt your stay was perfect, thanks to our comfortable rooms and beds. Thank you for sharing about your stay with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I traveled with my teenager for spring break to Chicago and our experience at the hotel was wonderful. Exceptional staff, great rooms with very comfortable beds, clean,quiet and the location is great for taking tours, shopping, catching a movie and just relaxing in the room. The James hotel was an unexpected highlight of our trip! I can't wait to return and try out their spa and onsite gym. Recommended for cool urban parents or guests looking to stay in a cool boutique hotel with great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glynnis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Glynnis V,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor to hear that we were the highlight of your trip, thanks to our location and the exceptional service provided by our team. I am humbled by your compliments and generous recommendation; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £121 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing