We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had to move here at late notice. We loved the bar, and their bar snacks. Great cocktails and surprisingly good rooms for the price. I would rebook here in a heartbeat. It is very central for Chicago - both downtown and the more touristic areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuncanK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear DuncanK1,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate you compliments of our bar, and glad you enjoyed both their menu and cocktails. Most of all, it is an honor to hear that you would like to visit again and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 3,392 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My reviews are very straightforward.....pro's versus con's drive the ranking:

PRO's
--daily glass bottle of water
--provide Intelligent Nutrient Harmonic soaps & shampoos (no harsh chemicals - gluten free)
--minimalist low impact interior designs (some consider this stark...I consider it providing basic human needs)
--full bottles of alcohol in rooms (top shelf brands)
--Starbucks Via instant coffee.....substantially better than grinds in a white paper pouch
--2pm checkout
--proximity to Trader Joes (for healthy snacks) and Starbucks
--1 block off Michigan Ave
--sushi, mexican, pizza, steak restaurants within 2 blocks
--morning coffee in lobby
--most gym equipment I have ever seen packed into 2000 ft2 (including 4 treadmills, 2 steppers and 4 bikes)
--fruit in gym each morning
--mall with Nordstroms 2 blocks away
--Bill the concierge is outstanding for getting reservations to places that are "all booked up"
--valets providing bottles of water whenever we left in a cab
--David Burke steakhouse is outstanding......very nice wine list
--firm and comfortable beds

CON's
--noise on outside rooms (it is Chicago....so expect sirens 24/7/365)
--rooms have limited drawers & bed side tables have no drawers....inconvenient if you want to unpack your bags

8.5:1 pro's to con's ratio = 5 circles

Room Tip: Outside facing lower rooms can be noisy due to sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear GJ R,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your thoughtful list of what you enjoyed during your visit and appreciate your candid feedback. I am delighted that our amenities such as complimentary water, coffee service, and large gym attributed to a great overall experience. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time that you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at The James over Memorial Day weekend and were really pleased with our hotel selection. We did a lot of research on the best location and value and we were so happy with our selection of The James. It is literally one block from the Magnificent Mile and just a few blocks from the river, the subway/L train, and all other sites. The service was great, very friendly and helpful, clean rooms and the breakfast was very tasty. They offer a free car service to places within a few miles, no reservations, so if it is available, they will take you, that was a really nice treat! You can't go wrong with this hotel in Chicago!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you can to avoid the normal city noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear JeanH3970,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor to hear that you were very pleased with your visit, thanks to our convenient location, complimentary house car, and most of all, the excellent service provided by our entire team. I truly appreciate your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on Trip Advisor, and sincerely hope that we will see you the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Cant beat the location of this hotel. a one minute walk to the magnificent mile. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Across the street is a starbucks and trader joes. The hotel itself was wonderful. Staff were friendly, rooms were large and comfy. Definitely will consider staying here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear jinapsan,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us, thanks to our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and friendly team. Most of all, I am glad that you will consider us for a return visit the next time you visit Chicago; we hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here last week for 3 nights. Cannot say enough great things about this hotel. Great room on 17th floor, comfortable bed, huge towels,,wonderful robes.Friendly staff and very helpful. They were nice and joked around--not stuffy, we felt so comfortable because of their friendliness. The most conveniently located hotel we have ever stayed in. All the shopping was within easy walking distance, Never needed a cab. This will be the only hotel I will ever use in the future.Check-out was 2:00!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Diane S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of our 2:00 PM check-out, but most of all, the friendly service provided by our team. I am particularly humbled to hear that we will be the only hotel you will use when visiting Chicago in the future and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the james hotel for 2 nights on our honeymoon and loved our stay here...within minutes of telling the lady at the front desk that it was our honeymoon she sent a bottle of champagne and some chocolates up to our room. It was in a great location aswell close by to all the places and shops you would like to visit...i know parking can be expensive in Chicago so we knew that we would get hit with the $60 a night for parking which sucks..the gym downstairs is amazing and they have a sneaky bar in the complex called the jimmy which is well worth a look.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Michael B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and enjoyed the amenity. Thank you for your compliments of our gym and Jimmy and glad that these attributed to a great experience. On behalf of all of us at The James, congratulations on your marriage and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Smart, understated style in an area that's convenient to everything. Extremely comfortable bed in huge room with lots of options for change of scenery while relaxing (couch area, lounge/TV nook, etc.) Towels and bathrobes far above average. Friendly and helpful staff. Felt room rate was a bit high, but not outrageous, especially given the size of the room. Would happily stay with The James again, whether in Chicago or New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear hslowe,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us here at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our comfortable beds, bathrobes, and especially our team. Although it is a busy time of the year for us, we offer some great discounts and specials on our website, jameshotels.com, or by giving us a call. I am glad that you had a great experience and would visit us again; we hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 192 in Chicago
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,142 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £111 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse and the Primehouse Bar - a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing