We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“36 hours in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #48 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent staff, helpful and pleasant. Room was smaller than we expected, but very comfortable for sleeping. Great location for shopping, pizza, and popcorn! Easy access to subway and CTA. Did I mention excellent staff?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Linda B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that our location, comfortable rooms, and most of all, excellent staff made your 36 hours in Chicago a great experience. Thank you for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was my second stay at The James, and I loved every moment. This hotel is a gem among luxury boutiques in the Magnificent mile area. However, the employees are the true stars. Well, there may be just one that is a bad apple but whatever... The service is top notch and a great value. I always feel like royalty when I stay. The staff at David Burke's in Chicago is even more friendly than those at the New York location. There are no words for the food, except WOW, and YUM! I highly recommend that you try a hotel suite instead of just a room. Also, dine in the restaurant instead of ordering room service. I am still smiling...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank MrStacyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MrStacyStewart,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly humbling to hear your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers and I am delighted that your second visit was just as great as the first. Thank you for your compliments of our amazing team, I am glad that they made your stay a memorable one. Also, it great that you visited David Burke's Primehouse and are still smiling about your experience. I sincerely hope that we will welcome you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great staff, great service, and perfect location! The hotel was very modern looking, neat, and clean with speedy elevators. The room itself was just as neat and clean and bright. The room is, as others have said, minimalist in nature. I don't mean that as a bad thing either. You have everything you need but not a lot more. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were fabulous! The bathroom was very nice and the bath towels were awesome! They were huge - almost 6 ft long! No wimpy towels here. The location of the hotel was perfect for everything that we had planned. Couldn't have picked a better location to stay. The only thing that I would say as a Con would be the exorbitant parking fee! Use SpotHero and you can park across the street for about1/3 the cost of parking at the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear KEverage,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our comfortable rooms but most of all, the excellent service provided by our entire team. It is an honor to hear that your first visit will not be your last, and look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent a glorious time in Chicago at the James Hotel--elegant, professional,
best towels and superb gym, friendly staff, ultra-clean rooms--right in the heart
of town where we could walk to most everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Robin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago! It is an honor to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our convenient location, gym, and especially our friendly team. Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had to move here at late notice. We loved the bar, and their bar snacks. Great cocktails and surprisingly good rooms for the price. I would rebook here in a heartbeat. It is very central for Chicago - both downtown and the more touristic areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuncanK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear DuncanK1,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate you compliments of our bar, and glad you enjoyed both their menu and cocktails. Most of all, it is an honor to hear that you would like to visit again and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My reviews are very straightforward.....pro's versus con's drive the ranking:

PRO's
--daily glass bottle of water
--provide Intelligent Nutrient Harmonic soaps & shampoos (no harsh chemicals - gluten free)
--minimalist low impact interior designs (some consider this stark...I consider it providing basic human needs)
--full bottles of alcohol in rooms (top shelf brands)
--Starbucks Via instant coffee.....substantially better than grinds in a white paper pouch
--2pm checkout
--proximity to Trader Joes (for healthy snacks) and Starbucks
--1 block off Michigan Ave
--sushi, mexican, pizza, steak restaurants within 2 blocks
--morning coffee in lobby
--most gym equipment I have ever seen packed into 2000 ft2 (including 4 treadmills, 2 steppers and 4 bikes)
--fruit in gym each morning
--mall with Nordstroms 2 blocks away
--Bill the concierge is outstanding for getting reservations to places that are "all booked up"
--valets providing bottles of water whenever we left in a cab
--David Burke steakhouse is outstanding......very nice wine list
--firm and comfortable beds

CON's
--noise on outside rooms (it is Chicago....so expect sirens 24/7/365)
--rooms have limited drawers & bed side tables have no drawers....inconvenient if you want to unpack your bags

8.5:1 pro's to con's ratio = 5 circles

Room Tip: Outside facing lower rooms can be noisy due to sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear GJ R,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your thoughtful list of what you enjoyed during your visit and appreciate your candid feedback. I am delighted that our amenities such as complimentary water, coffee service, and large gym attributed to a great overall experience. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time that you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at The James over Memorial Day weekend and were really pleased with our hotel selection. We did a lot of research on the best location and value and we were so happy with our selection of The James. It is literally one block from the Magnificent Mile and just a few blocks from the river, the subway/L train, and all other sites. The service was great, very friendly and helpful, clean rooms and the breakfast was very tasty. They offer a free car service to places within a few miles, no reservations, so if it is available, they will take you, that was a really nice treat! You can't go wrong with this hotel in Chicago!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you can to avoid the normal city noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear JeanH3970,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor to hear that you were very pleased with your visit, thanks to our convenient location, complimentary house car, and most of all, the excellent service provided by our entire team. I truly appreciate your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on Trip Advisor, and sincerely hope that we will see you the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,593 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 192 in Chicago
3,948 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#34 of 192 in Chicago
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £96 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse and the Primehouse Bar - a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing