We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #54 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a night at The James in Chicago. We'll never stay anywhere else. Perfect location. From the moment we stepped out of our car, the staff graciously took care of us. Front desk quickly called the restaurant and we had our table for two. Spacious room, nice bathroom with lots of amenities, complimentary WiFi, spotlessly clean, comfy bed with lots of pillows. It was such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am humbled to hear your generous compliments of our helpful team, complimentary WiFI and our comfortable rooms. Most of all, it an honor that you will not consider staying elsewhere after your experience with us and we truly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 3,453 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

First time in Chicago & definitely got the hotel right. The James has a great location just off Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Magnificent Mile - walking distance to lots of shopping, great restaurants & many attractions. Staff was terrific & helpful. If they sensed we had a question or were wondering about something, they would politely ask or offer to help out. The room (king suite) was very contemporary and very clean. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Michael L,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location but most of all, the terrific service provided by our entire team. I am humbled by your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Upon arrival I was a bit nervous of the hotel staff being snobby, given the location, but no they were so receiving and answered all my questions with a smile. I valeted at 60 dollars for 24 hour in and out privileges which isn't bad since it is mega expensive to park downtown. Walking into the room was like walking into the mad men set, well the hotel in general. It's like a little home away from home. The bed was insanely comfortable just sinks in when you lay down. They include a little bar area and sink for all of your mixing needs. The room was better than any hotel I have ever stayed. Way to go James!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lpbriseno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Ibriseno,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored by your compliments of our comfortable beds and rooms, and especially that you felt at home while with us. Most of all, I am glad that our friendly service provided by our team made your visit memorable. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the James Hotel in Chicago over Memorial Day in 2014 and the hotel and service were beyond amazing.

Firstly the hotel is in great shape and they even upgraded us to a loft room which was very large and great amenities including a wall projector! The gym was great and had all the equipment you would need.

Secondly and more importantly the staff was super helpful. They catered to every request and the concierge service helped me plan an amazing weekend in the Windy City. Special kudos goes out to Laurelin Hefter, who took great care in ensuring our weekend went off without any problems. She even checked in on her day off.

I would recommend the James to anyone looking to visit the city and call ahead and discuss your travel plans with the concierge as they gave great advice on where to eat and drink.

Room Tip: All rooms are great here. But ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sachin B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am always honored to hear that our guests enjoyed their rooms and amenities here, but the best compliment I can receive is that it was the efforts of our tam that made your visit a memorable one. I am truly delighted that our concierge made your stay so personalized and appreciate your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Definitely a luxury hotel, and they treat you like royalty. Fantastic location, and good (not great) valet staff makes it very easy to get around, whether it's by cab or car. Very comfortable stay, with very impressive amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Will H,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location and array of amenities. Most of all, I am proud that you felt like royalty thanks to the service provided by our entire team. Thank you again for writing, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel had problems with needing repairs on 2 rooms and were over booked. They called us 1 day before we arrived and offered to put us at the Palomar for 1 night free, gave us a 75$ credit. and paid our cab fair to and from the Palomar. We had a wonderful stay at both hotels but much prefered The James Hotel. They have wonderful comfortable beds and pillows, and wonderful and friendly staff. The adjoining steak house has excellent food and service. Traders Joes and a bakery are across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nichms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear nichms,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with relocating to another property due to unforeseen repairs at our own. I am very thankful for your understanding with this unfortunate situation and am relieved that you had a great stay with us, thanks to the excellent service provided by our team. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Cute boutique hotel near Mag Mile. Beautiful mod rooms with great amenities. Loved the soaps and shampoo! Great linens, very clean. Good restaurant too. Great service, fun vibe. Nice towels too! Great spa/salon on site. Loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mindy K,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you loved your experience with us, thanks to the Intelligent Nutrients bath products, Asha spa, and the excellent service provided throughout. It is an honor that you plan to visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 191 in Chicago
4,124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £88 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience locally-inspired, seasonal dishes - morning, noon and night at The James Kitchen + Bar. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing