We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Magnificent mile option” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Perfect Magnificent mile option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very close and convenient to main downtown Chicago activities. Staff was very welcoming and professional. I loved the rooms that are European minimalist in style managing to fit everything you need/want and not look over crowded. Looked bright and fresh. Lots of nice touches including a nice little seating nook with a light you can turn down low when children are sleeping in main area. Loved the shampoo, soap, lotion collection too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Virginia K,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and most of all the welcoming atmosphere created by our team. Thank you again for writing and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    817
    206
    83
    50
See reviews for
447
1,216
176
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

By far the best hotel in Chicago. Clean, friendly, amazing location.
Turn down service is such an added plus. Visit Primehouse downstairs for amazing steak and phenomenal service . Just a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Rose K,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of our comfortable rooms, turndown service, and David Burke's Primehouse and that they attributed to a great experience. It is humbling to hear that after your visit, you consider us to be the best hotel in the city. Thank you for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My sister and I stayed here a few months ago and were very pleased with our hotel. The bed was so comfortable that it was hard to get up It also had a great location, walking distance from the subway, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, and a very short cab ride to other touristy areas of interest in Chicago. The concierge was also very helpful and helped us plan a night out in Chicago, from restaurant reservations to suggestions of where to go afterwards. Very recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear wanderingasian,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear your compliments of our convenient location, comfortable rooms, but mist of all, that it was our concierge team that assisted in making your visit to the city a memorable one. Thank you for writing about your experience for fellow travelers on Trip Advisor, and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The James is a terrific hotel, located steps from North Michigan Avenue, great restaurants, and shops. The restaurant within the hotel is not to be overlooked. Upon arriving, we stopped in for drinks and appetizers and all were far better than we expected. The rooms are nicely-designed and excellent for sleeping (quiet). This is the second time we've stayed at the hotel and see no reason to try others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigband5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear bigband5309,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first, thanks to our location, comfortable rooms, and the delicious menu featured at David Burke's Primehouse. Your loyalty is truly appreciated and on behalf of the entire James team, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had some events going on downtown Chicago for the weekend and even though we live in the city, we choose to stay at the James because of how excellent the service is. They have a late check out time of 2pm which is nice as well as a moderately priced mini bar. The James is always my first choice when staying downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cuga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear cuga23,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that you chose to stay with us due to our friendly team and the excellent service they provide. I am humbled by and appreciate your continued loyalty to us, and look forward to the next time you stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed at The James Hotel many times and have always been impressed. The staff is fantastic and goes above and beyond my expectations. The location is great and the hotel has a great restaurant and lobby bar.



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Timothy P,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of our entire team and that they went above your expectations. Most of all, I am humbled and thankful for your continued loyalty to us and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the James for two nights. Rented side by side loft rooms. The rooms were wonderful, and a terrific set up for a large family. Each one has two king beds seperated by a living area. My parents and adult sibiling stayed in one room, and my husband and our two small children stayed in the other. The set up is really great for a family. We had our own space, but were in the same room. When I needed to get one kids ready for bed, the other could watch a movie without disturbing the first. After both kids were down, my husband and I could still stay up and read or talk -- a welcome change from cramming a family of 4 into a small hotel room with two double beds. The staff was wonderful; hotel is very modern; linens, bedding, free coffee in the moring, etc., are all great! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Andrea P,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in our Loft Suite and that it was perfect for you and your entire family. I also appreciate your generous compliments of our morning coffee service and especially our friendly team. Most of all, it an honor that you will stay with us again in the future and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing