We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I traveled to Chicago for a long-planned trip there last week. We had read and heard many great things about The James and were not disappointed... First, let me say that the concierge staff are terrific! Bill, the head concierge, answered all our questions and made all the arrangements for the tours and sites we wanted to visit. Every detail was addressed. We even requested changes be made to our tour reservations which was handled with professionalism and good nature. All of the hotel staff are first-rate, as are the facilities. Our room was perfectly appointed, clean, very quiet and spacious.

We highly recommend The James Chicago... It's only steps from the Magnificent Mile and the staff make you feel right at home.

We fell in love with the city and with this hotel. This was our first trip to Chicago, but it most certainly won't be our last... and The James will be our hotel of choice - for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denis_tessier745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear denis_tessier745,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to hear that it was the efforts of our concierge team that assisted in making your first visit to Chicago a memorable one. Most of all, it is humbling that you recommended us to fellow travelers and especially that you plan to return the next time you visit Chicago. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at The James during the 4th of July weekend and it was absolutely amazing! The staff was incredibly helpful and the hotel has a great location right off Michigan Ave! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabatha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Tabatha J,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I truly appreciate your generous compliments of our helpful team, and that they assisted in making your weekend a memorable one. It is truly an honor that you recommended us here on TripAdvisor and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there last week on vacation absolutely beautiful hotel great service great staff right in the heart of everything, when we are in Chicago again we will definitely stay at the James Hotel, you will pay a little bit more but you definitely get what you pay for.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank osugrad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear osugrad94,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to receive your generous compliments of both our location and especially the service provided by our entire team. Most of all, we are humbled by your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers and look forward to welcoming both you and your wife back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here this weekend with my sister and was really impressed with the quality of service. The hotel was beautiful and in an amazing area. Walking distance to basically everything. Friendly doorman and the complimentary car service really came in handy a few nights. The rooms are modern and spacious and very comfy and clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again and at there other properties.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear tracie k,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear your compliments of our house car, location, and especially the service that made your visit a memorable one. I sincerely appreciate your recommendation of us to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor and hope you will try our locations in New York and Miami Beach as well. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The James goes above and beyond to make us and our large dog feel welcome. . . The dog is not just tolerated, but adored and petted, which we LOVE. We look forward to our two stays a year and wish every hotel could be the James. It's luxurious but so, so worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janetf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear janetf0,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your most recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is truly an honor to hear that you are a returning guest, and have enjoyed your visits since our wonderful team makes you and your dog feel at home. I am humbled by your continued loyalty to us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel simply had fewer amenities than I had hoped. To be fair, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff was excellent and attentive, but the simple fact that the rooms were older and slightly shabbier than the rooms of peer hotels, and included fewer built in luxuries, was enough to make me feel less pampered than I would have liked.

In fairness, the room was very hip and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. In a typical hotel that I was expecting to simply crash in, with no expectations of luxury, I would have been more than satisfied. Its just that the billing of the hotel put me in mind of a more luxurious setting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear James F,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your visit with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room and amenities; it is not our standard to have a "shabby" room for our guests, and I would appreciate the opportunity to find out what needs to be improved. You may contact me directly at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I am glad that despite this setback, you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the service provided by our team, but I certainly hope we will have the opportunity to regain you confidence in us. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It's just that easy, from check in where a small problem turned into a fantastic result to a fabulous room, the best staff ever, I've stayed at fantastic places and this staff is better than Disney and that says a lot in my eyes. Dog friendly policy, walking distance to everything and friendly upbeat boutique style. I will always stay here.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Frank K,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that our front desk team was able to resolve the issue and you were satisfied with the resulting room. I am truly honored by your compliments of our entire team, and I am glad that you agree that they are among the best in the business. Most of all, its great that your first stay will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,657 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £134 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing