We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No movies!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York
1 review
“No movies!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is the first hotel I have been to in years that has no movies. And it uses satellite TV with poor reception.
It was a rainy chicago afternoon so I figured I would settle into a movie. Nothing. Doesn't exist.
Other than that there is very little storage for clothes. They do have the best in room bar I have ever seen with premium liquors.
Ron was kind of small but adequate. King bed was very comfortable. Room.was very clean and personnel courteous.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jpnewyork22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear jpnewyork22,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. We are currently in the process of updating our televisions at the hotel, and at the completion of this project, our guests will have an expanded selection of high definition channels to choose from as well as access to movies. In the interim, we do have a considerable selection of movies for our guests available with our concierge. I am sorry that this was not communicated properly to you, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back once this is completed to enjoy the full James experience.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    831
    207
    87
    51
See reviews for
454
1,233
179
726
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, in a great location, just off Michigan. Small, intimate, warm and inviting. You can walk everywhere from this location. There is no other place we would stay in Chicago except The James.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kathleen G,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of us and especially that after your visit, you would not stay elsewhere. Your recommendation of us on TripAdvisor is appreciated and on behalf of the entire James team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Second time I've stayed at the James - best hotel I've stayed at in Chicago! Very helpful staff. They are also knowledgable and recommend amazing restaurants and jazz clubs. Perfect location. EJ is the man!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Alex G,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear you enjoyed your experience, thanks to our friendly staff, most notably EJ. It is humbling that after your second visit, you consider us to be the best hotel you have stayed at in Chicago. Thank you for your compliments and loyalty to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fetsund, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the James! It is new, fresh and has a very friendly and helpful staff! It is great located just steps from everything Chicago can offer. We will be back next time we are in Chicago. We loved the wi-fi in the room and the bathroom. Everything was clean and nice, and modern. US hotels has a tendency to take us back to the 70ties or 80ties and we do not like it very much.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Fetsund_NorwayGry,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. Your generous compliments of our modern decor, complimentary WiFI and especially our friendly staff are truly appreciated. Most of all, it is an honor that your first visit will not be your last and that you plan to return the next time you are in Chicago. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good hotel.. all the staff very friendly and helpful.. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable which is what you need after a 17 hours of air flights.. the only downer was traffic noise.. sirens etc which you could expect being so central to the city..

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Porka54,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I truly appreciate your compliments of our wonderful team and glad that they assisted in making your visit an enjoyable one. As you noted, our convenient location near the Magnificent Mile does subject us to some city noise, but our front desk is always happy to assist in finding comfortable accommodations if this is bothersome. Thank you again for taking the time to write, and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanchard, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time to stay at the James Chicago, already looking forward to the next time. It was a so nice, great location and the friendliest staff ever! Such comfortable beds and we loved the simple but elegant feel of the hotel. A definite must stay place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mischellerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear mischellerose,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your generous compliments of our decor, comfortable beds, and especially our friendly team. Most of all, it an honor that your first visit with us will not be your last and on behalf of the entire James team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A nice location, nice staff, but the room is terrible. A tiny bathroom with a pocket door that was very difficult to move. The thing called a closet is a tiny hole in the wall with a rag hanging in front of it. Since there is no light anywhere nearby, it is very difficult to get anything in or out. There is no drawer space for anything. What could be a dresser is taken up with overpriced liquor for sale. There are no night stand lamps, just an overhead light, and there is no light switch on one side of the bed. A miserable experience. One day the door to the room could not be opened because the battery for the lock died. The front desk did not want to believe it, and made us try it again before they called maintenance. About an hour after our complaint, we finally got into the room. I guess they forgot to apologize or make up for the inconvenience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear travelingman47,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you had while with us. The conditions and issues that you described certainly do not meet our expectations, and I am very sorry that this occurred. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service, and the response to the key problem you encountered certainly does not reflect that. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline and you can contact me directly at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#51 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing