We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #45 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Boutique hotel a block off of the "Mag Mile" offering a terrific location for shopping, dining, theater & general tourist attractions of downtown Chicago. Clean, contemporary, & customer service oriented.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apackrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear apackrfan,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to receive your generous compliments of our location, contemporary design, and especially our outstanding service. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 3,355 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely hotel--far exceeded my expectations. Inormally stay in Marriott in Chicago but this was the conference hotel & so glad I took the leap & stayed at The James. From my initial call, to make my reservation, to the immediate response to my late arrive notice email, to the genuine friendliness of the staff when I arrived, to the unique room--an excellent experience. Pleasantly surprised by the Euro-decor & room included a llving area with small couch/chair and widescreen TV. Room also had for purchase larger sizes basic of liquors (e.g. Tanqueray)--not just airplane sizes. Also had a bottle of Ferrari Carano Sienna for $52 (didn't think this was bad). The bar downstairs has great energy and I had a good salmon dinner at the restaurant. The fitness center is well-equipped and much cleaner than other city hotels where I've stayed. I plan to bring my family back for a weekend (hotel clerk even gave me weekend tips as I checked out). Excellent experience! .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear M M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is wonderful to hear that you decided to try us out and had an excellent experience thanks to our mini bar selection, David Burke's Primehouse, and especially the service provided by our entire team. I am so glad our team helped to exceed your expectations and that you plan to visit us again with family. Thank you for your generous compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Always have a great stay at The James. At the risk of creating more demand for this excellent hotel (risking availability for future stays), the staff is always friendly, location is great and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear John S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear your compliments of our comfortable rooms and most of all, our friendly team. It is humbling that you are a returning guest, and sincerely appreciate your recommendation and especially your continued loyalty. Thank you for writing and on behalf of the entire James team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The James Hotel no only provided a great place for a meeting, but the staff is exceptional and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. The rooms, amenities, and for the good night sleep, bedding are all top line and the location is great for walking the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear D F,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your generous compliments of our bedding, location and amenities, but most of all, that the excellent service provided by our team made your visit a memorable one. I am uniquely honored by your recommendation of us to any traveler and look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I enjoyed the hotels amenities and room while there for a conference. I would like to go back for pleasure. High end amenities at a decent rate, great colors and textures in the rooms and hotel. The hotel was close to everything and the area was very nice and comfortable to walk even at a late hour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Joseph D,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit, thanks to our convenient location and excellent amenities. Most of all, it an honor that after your business trip here, you would like to return again for leisure. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am a repeat guest of The James. I enjoyed my stay enough to book a series of corporate events there the following year. It is a very modern, urban-chic hotel with a hot little bar in the lobby. The Primehouse Restaurant served us well for random lunches as well as for the catered event for my company. The service is wonderful and the front desk staff is courteous and flexible. The location is fabulous- a short walk to Michigan Ave. Highly recommend for adult leisure and corporate events.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JETSETG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear JETSETG,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am humbled by your compliments of out team, and especially that you have stayed with us before. We are honored to have hosted your corporate event and look forward to hosting you again next year. Thank you for your comments and generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers here on Trip Advisor, and on behalf of the entire team, we truly appreciate your continued loyalty!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

the people at the concierge desk were very helpful especially Laurelin thx!!!! When we arrived we were not happy with our room but they switched us quickly without any questions~ Could use better and more stations for TV I agree overall a great find in the area--close walking distance to everything and their breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jsmiley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Jsmiley65,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit, thanks to the great breakfast at David Burke's Primehouse and especially our concierge service. I apologize for the shortcoming with the television in the room, we are currently updating them and look forward to having a wide selection of channels available again soon. Thank you for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £121 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing